Skip to main content
University Libraries
MSU Home | myGate | RacerNet | Canvas
Facebook Twitter Google Plus Youtube Instagram Pinterest

RG018-11-15 Honors Day Programs: Home

Address Information

Murray State University

200 Pogue Library

Murray, Kentucky 42071

Phone & Fax Numbers

(207)809-6152

(270)809-4295

FAX (270)809-6153

Contact Special Collections via E-mail

Email us at:       msu.specialcollections@murraystate.edu  

Honors Day Programs

Collection Title: Honors Day Programs

 

Series Number: RG018-11-15

 

Department: Academic Affairs

 

Processed and Cataloged by: Processed by Christie Leith in March of 2011

 

Date Listed: March 3, 2011

 

Date Span: 1959-present

 

Size of Collection:  1 linear foot.

 

Number of Boxes:  2 letter sized document cases.

 

Type of Material: Programs and announcements.

 

Condition of Material: Good.

 

Arrangement: Chronological arrangement.

 

Historical Information: Honors Day at Murray State University began as a day of recognition for students who performed outstanding deeds of scholarly work during the academic year. The celebrations usually included the presentation of awards, certificates, citations, grants, etc. to students of distinction. The annual tradition of recognizing excellence in scholarship began in 1927 with the creation of the school’s first honor roll. At graduation those students were acknowledged by the institution for their scholarship. By the 1960s, a Parents Day and Honors Day celebrations were informally organized prior to commencement to recognize exceptional scholars. It was not until 1969, under the administration of President Harry M. Sparks, that Honors Day became an official event on the university’s academic schedule.         

 

Scope and Content: Collections consists of announcements and programs from Honors Day celebrations at Murray State University from 1959 to the present. Included in the collection are programs from Parents Day during the early 1960s.

 

Subject Headings / Descriptors:

Murray State University – History.

Murray State University – Honors Program.

Kentucky – Murray – University and colleges.

Special Collections & University Archives

LaDonna Hamontree's picture
LaDonna Hamontree
Contact:
270-809-6152