Skip to main content
University Libraries
MSU Home | myGate | RacerNet | Canvas
Facebook Twitter Google Plus Youtube Instagram Pinterest

RG017-11-14 Naval Flight Training School Records: Home

Address Information

Murray State University

200 Pogue Library

Murray, Kentucky 42071

Phone & Fax Numbers

(207)809-6152

(270)809-4295

FAX (270)809-6153

Contact Special Collections via E-mail

Email us at:       msu.specialcollections@murraystate.edu  

Naval Flight Training School Records

Collection Title: Records

 

Series Number: RG017-11-14

 

Department: Naval Flight Training School

 

Processed and Cataloged by: Reprocessed by Dieter C. Ullrich in February to April of 2011.

 

Date Listed: April 8, 2011

 

Date Span: 1942-1946

 

Size of Collection:  9.5 linear feet.

 

Number of Boxes:  15 legal size document cases; 2 legal half size document case and 2 oversized boxes

 

Type of Material: Correspondence, reports and financial records.

 

Condition of Material: Good.

 

Arrangement: Organized alphabetically by subject title of file folder; Chronological arrangement

 

Historical Information: On December 16, 1942, the United States Navy granted a naval preflight training unit to be stationed at Murray State Teachers College in Murray, Kentucky. 250 Navy cadets arrived on campus January 6, 1943 to begin pilot training. By the summer of 1943 over 1,100 cadets had enrolled for training courses. As the Second World War began to wind down, the Navy began closing preflight training units in the fall of 1944. On September 28, 1944, the last of the training school cadets departed the campus and the unit at Murray was officially closed on October 31, 1944. A naval academic refresher unit remained on campus until December 15, 1945. 

 

Scope and Content: Collection consists of correspondence, periodic reports and financial records retained by Murray State Teachers College in relation to the United States Naval Preflight Training School and Naval Academic Refresher Unit from December of 1942 to October of 1946. The subject files include cadet grades, tests and exams, forms and documents, and letters, wires and telegrams between college administrators, Navy officers and government officials and politicians. The financial records contain detailed receipts, invoices and expense reports for food, dining, housing, clerical, instructional, medical, dental and emergency claim statements for the Naval Preflight Training School Program and the Naval Air Reserve Unit. Included in the collection are oversized cashbooks, ledgers and inventories.

 

Subject Headings / Descriptors:

Murray State University – History.

Naval aviation – Training.

United States Navy Pre-flight School (Murray, Ky.)

United States. Navy – Reserve officers’ training corps.

World War, 1939-1945

Special Collections & University Archives

LaDonna Hamontree's picture
LaDonna Hamontree
Contact:
270-809-6152