Skip to main content
University Libraries
MSU Home | myGate | RacerNet | Canvas
Facebook Twitter Google Plus Youtube Instagram Pinterest

RG016-12-13 Hester College Dormitory Fire Newspaper Clippings: Home

Address Information

Murray State University

200 Pogue Library

Murray, Kentucky 42071

Phone & Fax Numbers

(270)809-6152

(270)809-4295

FAX (270)809-6153

Contact Special Collections via E-mail

Email us at:       msu.specialcollections@murraystate.edu  

Hester College Dormitory Fire Newspaper Clippings

 

Collection Title: Hester College Dormitory Fire Newspaper Clippings

 

Series Number: RG016-12-13

 

Department: Library Services

 

Processed and Cataloged by: Processed by Dieter Ullrich on June 8, 2012.

 

Date Listed: June 8, 2012

 

Date Span: 1998-2003

 

Size of Collection:  2.25 linear feet.

 

Number of Boxes:  1 legal half size document case and 1 oversized box.

 

Type of Material: Newspapers clippings and ephemera.

 

Condition of Material: Good.

 

Arrangement: Chronological arrangement.

 

Historical Information: On September 18, 1998, a fire set by an arsonist on the fourth floor of the Hester College dormitory on the Murray State University campus claimed the life of one student and seriously injured another. A long series of investigations, criminal trials and personal law suits followed the incident and continues to the present. 

 

Scope and Content: Collection consists of newspaper clippings from regional papers of the Hester College Dormitory fire on the Murray State University campus on September 18, 1998. The collection includes newspaper clippings on personal law suits and criminal trials associated with the incident dating from September 18, 1998 to June 21, 2003.    

 

Subject Headings / Descriptors:

Murray State University. Hester College.

Murray State University – History.

Fires – Kentucky – Murray.

Arson – Kentucky – Murray.

Special Collections & University Archives

LaDonna Hamontree's picture
LaDonna Hamontree
Contact:
270-809-6152