Skip to main content
University Libraries
MSU Home | myGate | RacerNet | Canvas
Facebook Twitter Google Plus Youtube Instagram Pinterest

RG016-11-20 Furniture Design Blueprints - Pogue Library: Home

Address Information

Murray State University

200 Pogue Library

Murray, Kentucky 42071

Phone & Fax Numbers

(207)809-6152

(270)809-4295

FAX (270)809-6153

Contact Special Collections via E-mail

Email us at:       msu.specialcollections@murraystate.edu  

RG016-11-20

Collection Title: Furniture Design Blueprints – Pogue Library

 

Series Number: RG016-11-20

 

Department: Library Services

 

Processed and Cataloged by: Processed by Dieter C. Ullrich on April 11, 2011

 

Date Listed: April 11, 2011

 

Date Span: 1930

 

Size of Collection:  3.0 linear feet.

 

Number of Boxes:  1 oversized box.

 

Type of Material: Blueprints.

 

Condition of Material: Fair with some creasing and torn pages.

 

Arrangement: Chronological arrangement.

 

Historical Information: The general assembly of the State of Kentucky appropriated $250,000 for the construction of a men’s dormitory and library building at Murray State Teachers College in the spring of 1928. On July 6, 1928, G. Tandy Smith was employed as the architect of the new buildings. Contracts to construct the library were awarded on April 15, 1930. In November and December of 1930, several furniture companies provided drawings for the layout of the buildings furniture. Bids for library furniture were secured on February 5, 1931. Two days later the contract was awarded to Globe-Wernicke of Cincinnati for $6,192.85. The library was opened to the public on May 1, 1931.

 

Scope and Content: Collection contains a series of blueprints of furniture designs and plans for the library at Murray State Teachers College (presently Murray State University) by Remington Rand Business Service Incorporated, Library Bureau, from November to December of 1930. The collection includes drawings of furniture, floor plans and correspondence for the college library.

 

Subject Headings / Descriptors:

Murray State University. Library Services.

Library architecture – Kentucky – Murray.

Libraries – Space utilization.

Library buildings – Designs and plans – Kentucky – Murray.

Special Collections & University Archives

LaDonna Hamontree's picture
LaDonna Hamontree
Contact:
270-809-6152