Skip to main content
University Libraries
MSU Home | myGate | RacerNet | Canvas
Facebook Twitter Google Plus Youtube Instagram Pinterest

RG016-11-17 Regional Library Service: Home

Address Information

Murray State University

200 Pogue Library

Murray, Kentucky 42071

Phone & Fax Numbers

(207)809-6152

(270)809-4295

FAX (270)809-6153

Contact Special Collections via E-mail

Email us at:       msu.specialcollections@murraystate.edu  

Regional Library Service

Collection Title: Regional Library Service Records

 

Series Number: RG016-11-17

 

Department: Library Services

 

Processed and Cataloged by: Processed by Christie Leith in March of 2011.

 

Date Listed: April 6, 2011

 

Date Span: 1939-1947

 

Size of Collection:  3 linear feet.

 

Number of Boxes:  6 letter size document cases and 1 letter half size document case.

 

Type of Material: Correspondence, financial records and monthly reports.

 

Condition of Material: Good.

 

Arrangement: Organized alphabetically by title of file folder; Chronological arrangement.

 

Historical Information: In 1939, the Tennessee Valley Authority, Murray State College and the Kentucky Library Extension Division developed an agreement to provide a Regional Library Service to the citizens of Marshall, Graves and Calloway Counties. Prior to the establishment of the Regional Library Service there existed no public library in those counties. The administration of the program was placed under the Library Department of the college. The program’s primary purpose was to serve the rural and county schools and improve literacy in small communities within the three counties. By the end of the Second World War, the program had over 13,000 books and employed one full time librarian, one half time librarian, one school librarian, ten teacher-librarians and over 50 volunteers. The Tennessee Valley Authority withdrew financial support for the program, which was half the entire budget, in July of 1947. The counties were unwilling to take on the added costs of the program and thus the Regional Library Service was discontinued.     

 

Scope and Content: Collection consists of correspondence, financial records and monthly reports created by the Regional Library Service program of Marshall, Graves and Calloway Counties from 1939 to 1947. Included in the collection are book orders, annual reports, contract agreements, bookmobile statistics and various other records associated with the Regional Library Service. Added to the collection were publicity photographs from the 1940s transferred from the University photograph collection.

 

Subject Headings / Descriptors:

Murray State University. Library Services.

Kentucky Library Extension Division.

Tennessee Valley Authority – History.

Public libraries – Kentucky – Marshall County.

Public libraries – Kentucky – Graves County.

Public libraries – Kentucky – Calloway County.

Rural libraries – Kentucky.

Library cooperation – Kentucky.

School libraries – Kentucky.

Special Collections & University Archives

LaDonna Hamontree's picture
LaDonna Hamontree
Contact:
270-809-6152