Skip to main content
University Libraries
MSU Home | myGate | RacerNet | Canvas
Facebook Twitter Google Plus Youtube Instagram Pinterest

RG015-13-02 Cleo G. Hester Papers: Home

Address Information

Murray State University

200 Pogue Library

Murray, Kentucky 42071

Phone & Fax Numbers

(270)809-6152

(270)809-4295

FAX (270)809-6153

Contact Special Collections via E-mail

Email us at:       msu.specialcollections@murraystate.edu  

Cleo G. Hester Papers

 

Collection Title: Cleo G. Hester Papers

 

Series Number: RG015-13-02

 

Department: Registrar’s Office

 

Processed and Cataloged by: Processed by Tyler Adams between January and February of 2013.

 

Date Listed: March 4, 2013.

 

Date Span: 1927-1969

 

Size of Collection:  10.0 linear feet.

 

Number of Boxes:  12 legal size document cases, 2 legal half size document cases and 1 oversized box.

 

Type of Material: Correspondence, memorandums, reports, records and ephemera.

 

Condition of Material: Fair with some fading and foxing due aging and improper storage. Minor water damage to some documents.

 

Arrangement: Organized alphabetically by title of subject heading of file folder; Chronological arrangement.

 

Historical Information: Cleo Gillis Hester was the registrar of Murray State Teachers College and Murray State College from 1927 to 1960. She was the first full time registrar hired by the college. She was born in Anderson County, Kentucky in 1891. She attended public schools in Mason County and graduated from Minerva High School in 1908. She received her Bachelor’s (1912) and Master’s degree (1914) from the University of Kentucky. From 1915 to 1927, Hester taught at public schools and served in school administrative positions in Oklahoma and Kentucky. She joined the staff at Murray State on January 31, 1927 and served as registrar until her retirement in July 1, 1960. In September of 1967, Hester Hall (presently Hester College) was named in her honor. She was also one of the founding members of the Business and Professional Women’s Club of Murray. She passed away in Lexington, Kentucky on June 26, 1980.     

 

Scope and Content: Collection consists of academic grade cards, class grade sheets, enrollment records, budget reports, attendance reports, class schedules, honor rolls, degrees granted, admission forms, records of high school credits and various studies and surveys produced by the Registrar’s Office of Murray State Teachers College and Murray State College from 1923 to 1960. Included with the collection are correspondence with the Department of Education, Board of Regents reports and records associated with the American Association of Colleges for Teacher Education.

 

Subject Headings / Descriptors:

Hester, Cleo Gillis, 1980

American Association of Teachers Colleges and Universities.

Murray State University. Registrar’s Office.

Murray State University – History.

Special Collections & University Archives

LaDonna Hamontree's picture
LaDonna Hamontree
Contact:
270-809-6152