Skip to main content
University Libraries
MSU Home | myGate | RacerNet | Canvas
Facebook Twitter Google Plus Youtube Instagram Pinterest

RG015-11-19 Certificates and Degrees: Home

Address Information

Murray State University

200 Pogue Library

Murray, Kentucky 42071

Phone & Fax Numbers

(207)809-6152

(270)809-4295

FAX (270)809-6153

Contact Special Collections via E-mail

Email us at:       msu.specialcollections@murraystate.edu  

Certificates and degrees

Collection Title: Certificates and degrees

 

Series Number: RG015-11-19

 

Department: Registrar’s Office

 

Processed and Cataloged by: Processed by Dieter C. Ullrich on April 11, 2011.

 

Date Listed: April 11, 2011

 

Date Span: 1913-1930

 

Size of Collection:  3.0 linear feet.

 

Number of Boxes:  2 oversized boxes.

 

Type of Material: Certificates and degrees.

 

Condition of Material: Good.

 

Arrangement: Organized by size of document; Chronological arrangement

 

Historical Information: Murray State Normal School began issuing teaching certificates in the summer of 1924. Five grades of certificates were awarded and included provisional elementary certificate of the second class, provisional elementary certificate of the first class, standard elementary certificate, college elementary certificate and advanced certificate. In 1930, the general assembly of Kentucky granted Murray State Teachers College the authority to award bachelor of arts and bachelor of science degrees in teaching. The first bachelor’s degree was granted in the summer of 1932. 

 

Scope and Content: Collection consists of certificates and degrees awarded by the Murray State Normal School and Murray State Teachers College (presently Murray State University) from 1924 to 1930. Included in the collection are Kentucky state teacher’s certificates from 1913 and 1920 and a teacher’s promotion certificate from 1926. 

 

Subject Headings / Descriptors:

Murray State University. Registrar’s Office

Murray State University – History.

Murray State University – Degrees.

Certificates – Kentucky.

 

Special Collections & University Archives

LaDonna Hamontree's picture
LaDonna Hamontree
Contact:
270-809-6152