Skip to main content
University Libraries
MSU Home | myGate | RacerNet | Canvas
Facebook Twitter Google Plus Youtube Instagram Pinterest

RG009-13-11 Delta Kappa Gamma Records: Home

Address Information

Murray State University

200 Pogue Library

Murray, Kentucky 42071

Phone & Fax Numbers

(270)809-6152

(270)809-4295

FAX (270)809-6153

Contact Special Collections via E-mail

Email us at:       msu.specialcollections@murraystate.edu  

Delta Kappa Gamma Records

Collection Title: Delta Kappa Gamma Records
 
Series Number: RG009-13-11
 
Department: Student Organizations
 
Processed and Cataloged by: Processed by Christie Leith in March of 2013
 
Date Listed: March 27, 2013.
 
Date Span: 1940-2000 (bulk, 1954-2000)
 
Size of Collection:  0.5 linear feet.
 
Number of Boxes:  1 letter size document cases.
 
Type of Material: Programs and records.
 
Condition of Material: Good.
 
Arrangement: Chronological arrangement
 
Historical Information: The Alpha Gamma chapter of the Delta Kappa Gamma Society was established at Murray State Teachers College (presently Murray State University) on March 16, 1940. The mission of the Society is to unite, support and promote women educators. During the Second World War, the Society was declared inactive but was reactivated in 1947. Since then the Society has been active and still promotes women educators by offering grants and financial assistance to women students majoring in Teacher Education.
 
Scope and Content: Collection consists of the records of the Alpha Gamma chapter of the Delta Kappa Gamma Society from 1940 to 2000. The bulk of the collection is annual programs listing members and officers of the national, state and local chapters, constitution and by-laws and events sponsored by the organization from 1954 to 2000.
 
Subject Headings / Descriptors:
Delta Kappa Gamma. Alpha Gamma (Murray, Ky.)
Women educators – Kentucky – Murray.
Women – Societies and clubs – Kentucky – Murray.
Murray State University – History.

Special Collections & University Archives

LaDonna Hamontree's picture
LaDonna Hamontree
Contact:
270-809-6152