Skip to main content
University Libraries
MSU Home | myGate | RacerNet | Canvas
Facebook Twitter Google Plus Youtube Instagram Pinterest

RG009-10-17 Student Underground Newspapers: Home

Address Information

Murray State University

200 Pogue Library

Murray, Kentucky 42071

Phone & Fax Numbers

(207)809-6152

(270)809-4295

FAX (270)809-6153

Contact Special Collections via E-mail

Email us at:       msu.specialcollections@murraystate.edu  

Student Underground Newspapers

Collection Title: Student Underground Newspapers

 

Series Number: 009-10-17

 

Department: Student Organizations

 

Processed and Cataloged by: Joe Suiter

 

Date Listed: May 20, 2010

 

Date Span: 1969-1977

 

Size of Collection:  2 linear feet.

 

Number of Boxes:  2 oversized boxes.

 

Type of Material: Newspapers.

 

Condition of Material: Good.

 

Arrangement: Chronological arrangement

 

Historical Information: During the late 1960s and early 1970s underground newspapers were published irregularly by students at Murray State University. Most were focused on anti-establishment movements on campus and against the war in Vietnam.

 

Scope and Content: Collection contains various underground newspapers published by students of Murray State University from 1969 to 1977. The publications question and criticize institutional policies, university administrators and broader political issues of the era.    

 

Subject Headings / Descriptors:

Murray (Ky.) – Newspapers.

Murray State University – Newspapers.

Underground press publications – Murray State University – Newspapers.

Special Collections & University Archives

LaDonna Hamontree's picture
LaDonna Hamontree
Contact:
270-809-6152