Skip to main content
University Libraries
MSU Home | myGate | RacerNet | Canvas
Facebook Twitter Google Plus Youtube Instagram Pinterest

RG007-13-09 Historical Newspaper Issues: Home

Address Information

Murray State University

200 Pogue Library

Murray, Kentucky 42071

Phone & Fax Numbers

(270)809-6152

(270)809-4295

FAX (270)809-6153

Contact Special Collections via E-mail

Email us at:       msu.specialcollections@murraystate.edu  

Historical Newspaper Issues

Collection Title: Historical Newspaper Issues

 

Series Number: RG007-13-09

 

Department: Murray State News

 

Processed and Cataloged by: Processed by Christie Leith on March 19, 2013.

 

Date Listed: March 19, 2013.

 

Date Span: 1924-1982

 

Size of Collection: 3 linear feet.

 

Number of Boxes:  1 oversized box.

 

Type of Material: Newspapers.

 

Condition of Material: Fair with some fading and minor tears due to the high acidification of the paper and improper storage.

 

Arrangement: Chronological arrangement

 

Historical Information: The Murray State News was established during the spring semester of 1927 and first published on June 24, 1927 as the College News. The title of the publication was changed to the Murray State News in 1966. The paper is presently published every Friday during the academic year.

 

Scope and Content: Collection consists of full-spread newspapers issues that focus on the history of Murray State University and its predecessor institutions from 1924 to 1982. The bulk of the collection was printed by the Murray State student press but does contain publications from state and regional newspapers.  

 

Subject Headings / Descriptors:

Murray State University – History.

Murray State University – Newspapers.

Murray (Ky.) – Newspapers.

Special Collections & University Archives

LaDonna Hamontree's picture
LaDonna Hamontree
Contact:
270-809-6152