Skip to main content
University Libraries
MSU Home | myGate | RacerNet | Canvas
Facebook Twitter Google Plus Youtube Instagram Pinterest

RG005-12-09 Board of Regents Secretary Papers: Home

Address Information

Murray State University

200 Pogue Library

Murray, Kentucky 42071

Phone & Fax Numbers

(207)809-6152

(270)809-4295

FAX (270)809-6153

Contact Special Collections via E-mail

Email us at:       msu.specialcollections@murraystate.edu  

Board of Regents Secretary Papers

Collection Title: Secretary Papers

 

Series Number: RG005-12-09

 

Department: Board of Regents

 

Processed and Cataloged by: Processed by Hayley Allen in April and May of 2012.

 

Date Listed: April 11, 2012

 

Date Span: 1958-1973

 

Size of Collection:  3.25 linear feet.

 

Number of Boxes:  6 legal size document cases and 1 legal half size document case.

 

Type of Material: Correspondence, memos, budgets and meeting minutes.

 

Condition of Material: Good.

 

Arrangement: Organized alphabetically by subject title; Chronological arrangement.

 

Historical Information: The Murray State Normal School Board of Regents was formally established by the governor of Kentucky on March 22, 1924. The Board first met on April 14, 1924 and continues to meet regularly to the present day. The Board’s primary responsibility is to endorse the “concept of shared authority and responsibility in the governance of the institution” and provide an advisory role to the president of the university.

 

Scope and Content: Collection consists of edited and unedited Murray State College Board of Regents meeting minutes and budgets from 1958 to 1973 retained by the secretaries of the Board. The collection also contains correspondence, legal cases, press releases, trust indentures, application for radio station, student housing, financial and annual reports, Board resolutions and miscellaneous records on the Board’s activities.

 

Subject Headings / Descriptors:

Murray State College. Board of Regents.

Murray State University – History.

Murray State University – Administration.

Murray State University – Finance.

Special Collections & University Archives

LaDonna Hamontree's picture
LaDonna Hamontree
Contact:
270-809-6152