Skip to main content
University Libraries
MSU Home | myGate | RacerNet | Canvas
Facebook Twitter Google Plus Youtube Instagram Pinterest

RG004-12-33 Press Releases, 1998-2009: Home

Address Information

Murray State University

200 Pogue Library

Murray, Kentucky 42071

Phone & Fax Numbers

(270)809-6152

(270)809-4295

FAX (270)809-6153

Contact Special Collections via E-mail

Email us at:       msu.specialcollections@murraystate.edu  

Press Releases, 1998-2009

Collection Title: Press Releases

 

Series Number: RG004-12-33

 

Department: University Communications

 

Processed and Cataloged by: Processed by Jeff Henry from November of 2012 to January of 2013.

 

Date Listed: January 25, 2013

 

Date Span: 1998-2009.

 

Size of Collection:  5.0 linear feet.

 

Number of Boxes:  10 letter size document cases.

 

Type of Material: Press Releases.

 

Condition of Material: Good.

 

Arrangement: Chronological arrangement.

 

Historical Information: The early origins of University Communications Office began in 1927 with the establishment of the Department of Journalism which handled school publicity. In 1939, a Public Relations Office was created to promote events on campus. During the fall of 1965a Department of Communications was authorized by the University’s Board of Regents and the following year a Public Information Office was developed to document and distribute newsworthy items to regional and national news agencies. From 1974 to 1985, it was known as the Information and Public Services Office and from 1986 to the late 1990s as the Information Services Office. University Communications currently is part of the Institutional Advancement Office. 

 

Scope and Content: Collection consists of press releases issued by the University Communications Office of Murray State University from July 31, 1998 to December 2, 2009. The collection contains a series of reports on campus events, activities and news related to the University’s students and employees. Included with the press releases are a few scanned photographs and newspaper clippings from regional and state newspapers.

 

Subject Headings / Descriptors:

Murray State University – History.

University Communications Office. Murray State University.

Kentucky – Murray -- Universities and colleges.

Special Collections & University Archives

LaDonna Hamontree's picture
LaDonna Hamontree
Contact:
270-809-6152