Skip to main content
University Libraries
MSU Home | myGate | RacerNet | Canvas
Facebook Twitter Google Plus Youtube Instagram Pinterest

RG004-11-29 Biographical Files: Home

Address Information

Murray State University

200 Pogue Library

Murray, Kentucky 42071

Phone & Fax Numbers

(207)809-6152

(270)809-4295

FAX (270)809-6153

Contact Special Collections via E-mail

Email us at:       msu.specialcollections@murraystate.edu  

Biographical Files

Collection Title: Biographical Files

 

Series Number: RG004-11-29

 

Department: University Communications

 

Processed and Cataloged by: Processed by B. J. Drake in May of 2011.

 

Date Listed: May 9, 2011

 

Date Span: 1970’s-2010

 

Size of Collection: 8.0 linear feet.

 

Number of Boxes:  8 letter size document cases.

 

Type of Material: Newspapers clippings, press releases and ephemera.

 

Condition of Material: Good.

 

Arrangement: Organized alphabetically by surname.

 

Historical Information: The early origins of University Communications Office began in 1927 with the establishment of the Department of Journalism which handled school publicity. In 1939, a Public Relations Office was created to promote events on campus. During the fall of 1965 a Department of Communications was authorized by the University’s Board of Regents and the following year a Public Information Office was developed to document and distribute newsworthy items to regional and national news agencies. From 1974 to 1985, the office was known as the Information and Public Services Office and from 1986 to the late 1990s as the Information Services Office. University Communications currently is part of the Institutional Advancement Office.

 

Scope and Content: Collection consists of newspaper clippings and press releases of administrators, faculty, staff and alumni of Murray State University from the 1970s to 2010. Included in the collection are a few files of prominent individuals that made visits or presentations at the college. 

 

Subject Headings / Descriptors:

Murray State University. University Communications Office.

Murray State University – History.

Murray State University – Faculty.

Murray State University – Administrators.

Murray State University – Alumni and alumnae.

Kentucky – Murray – Universities and colleges.

Inventory of Collection

of University Communications Office

Special Collections & University Archives

LaDonna Hamontree's picture
LaDonna Hamontree
Contact:
270-809-6152