Skip to main content
University Libraries
MSU Home | myGate | RacerNet | Canvas
Facebook Twitter Google Plus Youtube Instagram Pinterest

RG003-14-03 Historical Documents: Home

Address Information

Murray State University

200 Pogue Library

Murray, Kentucky 42071

Phone & Fax Numbers

(270)809-6152

(270)809-4295

FAX (270)809-6153

Contact Special Collections via E-mail

Email us at:       msu.specialcollections@murraystate.edu  

Historical Documents

Collection Title: Historical Documents
 
Series Number: RG003-14-03
 
Department: Office of the President
 
Processed and Cataloged by: Processed by Dieter C. Ullrich in May of 2014
 
Date Listed: May 19, 2014
 
Date Span: 1922-1977
 
Size of Collection:  0.5 linear feet.
 
Number of Boxes:  1 legal document cases.
 
Type of Material: Records, reports and ledgers.
 
Condition of Material: Good.
 
Arrangement: Organized alphabetically by subject title; Chronological arrangement.
 
Historical Information: The Office of the President at Murray State University was established soon after the Murray State Normal School was founded in 1923.
 
Scope and Content: Collection consists of historical documents believed to have been removed from other collections for research purposes by the Office of the President. The collection contains handwritten donation ledgers listing Calloway County citizens that gave money for the creation of a Normal School at Murray in 1922, a daily class schedule from 1924, property inventory from 1929, contracts that developed a United States Navy Pre-Flight Training School in 1944, basketball team records from 1926 to 1959, R.O.T.C. contracts and bonds from 1952 to 1961, building revenue bonds from the 1960s and 1970s, trust indentures from 1965 and 1966, a legal documents related to Wallace’s Bookstore from 1969 to 1973 and a gift agreement signed by Jesse Stuart in 1977 to have his manuscripts placed in the archived at Murray State University. Included with the documents is a contract between the University and the Murray Natural Gas System in 1958 and debt statements between 1943 and 1951.   
 
Subject Headings / Descriptors:
Murray State Normal School – History.
Murray State Teachers College – History.
Murray State College – History.
Murray State University – History.
Murray State University – Finance.
Stuart, Jesse, 1906-1984.
Wallace’s Bookstore (Murray, Ky.)
Murray Natural Gas System (Murray, Ky.)
United States. Navy. Pre-Flight School (Murray, Ky.)
Calloway County (Ky.)

Special Collections & University Archives

LaDonna Hamontree's picture
LaDonna Hamontree
Contact:
270-809-6152