Skip to main content
University Libraries
MSU Home | myGate | RacerNet | Canvas
Facebook Twitter Google Plus Youtube Instagram Pinterest

RG003-13-13 Assistant to the President Papers: Home

Address Information

Murray State University

200 Pogue Library

Murray, Kentucky 42071

Phone & Fax Numbers

(270)809-6152

(270)809-4295

FAX (270)809-6153

Contact Special Collections via E-mail

Email us at:       msu.specialcollections@murraystate.edu  

Assistant to the President Papers

Collection Title: Assistant to the President Papers
 
Series Number: RG003-13-13
 
Department: Office of the President
 
Processed and Cataloged by: Processed by Christie Leith from April to June of 2013
 
Date Listed: June 25, 2013
 
Date Span: 1984-2000 (bulk, 1989-1997)
 
Size of Collection:  5.0 linear feet.
 
Number of Boxes:  10 letter size document cases.
 
Type of Material: Correspondence, memorandums, reports and ephemera.
 
Condition of Material: Good.
 
Arrangement: Organized alphabetically by subject title of file folder; Chronological arrangement.
 
Historical Information: The position of Administrative Assistant to the President of Murray State University was established in February of 1984 by President Kala M. Stroup. The first Assistant to the President was Phil Deaver. He was replaced by Cathy Cole in the fall of 1984 and held that position until the fall of 1986. Lenette Thurman served from the spring of 1987 to the summer of 1988. Anita Lawson was appointed in the fall of 1988 and remained until the fall of 1994. Sandra Rogers followed until the position was discontinued by Kern Alexander in the summer of 1997.    
 
Scope and Content: Collection consists of the office files retained by the Assistant to the President of Murray State University from 1984 to 2000. The bulk of the collection contains correspondence and memos sent or received by the Office of the President, institutional reports and miscellaneous records kept by the Assistant of the President between 1989 and 1997.
 
Subject Headings / Descriptors:
President’s Office. Murray State University.
Murray State University – Presidents.
Murray State University – History.
Deaver, Phil
Cole, Cathy
Thurman, Lenette
Lawson, Anita
Rogers, Sandra

Special Collections & University Archives

LaDonna Hamontree's picture
LaDonna Hamontree
Contact:
270-809-6152