Skip to main content
University Libraries
MSU Home | myGate | RacerNet | Canvas
Facebook Twitter Google Plus Youtube Instagram Pinterest

RG003-12-32 Council on Higher Education Office Files: Home

Address Information

Murray State University

200 Pogue Library

Murray, Kentucky 42071

Phone & Fax Numbers

(270)809-6152

(270)809-4295

FAX (270)809-6153

Contact Special Collections via E-mail

Email us at:       msu.specialcollections@murraystate.edu  

Council on Higher Education Office Files

Collection Title: Council on Higher Education Office Files

 

Series Number: RG003-12-32

 

Department: Office of the President

 

Processed and Cataloged by: Processed by Christie Leith from November of 2012 to March of 2013.

 

Date Listed: March 8, 2013

 

Date Span: 1968-1995

 

Size of Collection: 12.0 linear feet.

 

Number of Boxes: 24 letter sized document cases.

 

Type of Material: Correspondence, memorandums, surveys, studies and reports.

 

Condition of Material: Good.

 

Arrangement: Organized alphabetically by subject title of file folder; Chronological arrangement.

 

Historical Information: Murray State University had been an institutional member of the Council on Public Higher Education of Kentucky since it was established in 1934. In 1997, the Kentucky General Assembly passed the Postsecondary Education Improvement Act which reformed the Council and renamed it the Kentucky Council on Postsecondary Education. The current council reviews, monitors and approves tuition rates, academic programs, institutional effectiveness and performance, student success and various other areas significant to academic efficiency.    

 

Scope and Content: Collection consists of office files retained by the Office of the President of Murray State University relating to the Kentucky Council on Higher Education from 1968 to 1995. Included in the collection are correspondence and memorandums between office holders on the Council and administrators from Murray State University. The files also contain numerous surveys, studies and reports prepared by the Council on Higher Education, Murray State University and other institutions of higher education in the State of Kentucky.  

 

Subject Headings / Descriptors:

President’s Office. Murray State University.

Kentucky Council on Public Higher Education.

Kentucky Council on Higher Education.

Higher education and state – Kentucky.

Murray State University – Adminisration.

Special Collections & University Archives

LaDonna Hamontree's picture
LaDonna Hamontree
Contact:
270-809-6152