Skip to main content
University Libraries
MSU Home | myGate | RacerNet | Canvas
Facebook Twitter Google Plus Youtube Instagram Pinterest

RG003-12-30 Kern Alexander Office Files: Home

Address Information

Murray State University

200 Pogue Library

Murray, Kentucky 42071

Phone & Fax Numbers

(270)809-6152

(270)809-4295

FAX (270)809-6153

Contact Special Collections via E-mail

Email us at:       msu.specialcollections@murraystate.edu  

Kern Alexander Office Files

Collection Title: Office Files

 

Series Number: RG003-12-30

 

Department: Office of the President

 

Processed and Cataloged by: Processed by Christie Lieth in October of 2012.

 

Date Listed: October 31, 2012

 

Date Span: 1994-1995

 

Size of Collection: 4.25 linear feet.

 

Number of Boxes: 8 letter size document cases; 1 letter half size document cases.

 

Type of Material: Correspondence, reports, studies, records, etc.  

 

Condition of Material: Good.

 

Arrangement: Organized alphabetically by title of file folder; Chronological arrangement

 

Historical Information: Samuel Kern Alexander served as the ninth president of Murray State University from 1994 to 2001. He was born in Marrowbone, Kentucky on June 30, 1939. He received a Bachelor of Arts degree from Centre College in 1961 and a doctorate in education from Indiana University in 1965. He also received a diploma in Educational Studies from Oxford University in 1977. Prior to becoming president at Murray State he taught at Virginia Tech (1988-1994), served as President at Western Kentucky University (1985-1988), was the Educational Policy and Budget Coordinator for the State of Florida (1982-1985), a professor of educational administration at the University of Florida (1968-1985) and the Chief of Financial Practices, Office of Construction, at the United States Office of Education (1966-1968). Alexander was selected President of Murray State in the June of 1994. He retired from Murray State on June 30, 2001.

 

Scope and Content: Collection contains the office files of President Kern Alexander of Murray State University from 1994 to 1995. The collection includes correspondence, committee reports, academic studies and various other materials related to the administrative responsibilities of office of the presidency. 

 

Subject Headings / Descriptors:

Alexander, Samuel Kern, 1939-

Murray State University – History.

Murray State University – Presidents.

Special Collections & University Archives

LaDonna Hamontree's picture
LaDonna Hamontree
Contact:
270-809-6152