Skip to main content
University Libraries
MSU Home | myGate | RacerNet | Canvas
Facebook Twitter Google Plus Youtube Instagram Pinterest

RG003-12-05 James H. Richmond Papers: Home

Address Information

Murray State University

200 Pogue Library

Murray, Kentucky 42071

Phone & Fax Numbers

(207)809-6152

(270)809-4295

FAX (270)809-6153

Contact Special Collections via E-mail

Email us at:       msu.specialcollections@murraystate.edu  

James H. Richmond Papers

Collection Title: James H. Richmond Papers

 

Series Number: RG003-12-05

 

Department: Office of the President

 

Processed and Cataloged by: Processed by Christie Leith in March of 2012.

 

Date Listed: March 28, 2012

 

Date Span: 1935-1973

 

Size of Collection:  3.0 linear feet.

 

Number of Boxes:  1 legal half size document cases and 1 oversize box.

 

Type of Material: Correspondence, newspapers clippings and ephemera.

 

Condition of Material: Good.

 

Arrangement: Organized in alphabetical order by subject; Chronological arrangement.

 

Historical Information: James Howell Richmond was the fourth president of Murray State Teachers College, presently Murray State University, from 1936 to 1945. He was born in Ewing, Virginia on April 17, 1884. He attended Lincoln Memorial University and received his Bachelor’s degree at the University of Tennessee in 1907. He was later awarded honorary doctorates by Lincoln Memorial University, the University of Kentucky and the University of Louisville. He taught at various schools in Tennessee, Kentucky and Texas from 1907 to 1914. From 1914 to 1928, he was the principle of the Richmond school at Louisville. Richmond was the high school supervisor for the Kentucky State Department of Education from 1928 to 1932 and the superintendent of public instruction from 1932 to 1936. He also served as campaign manager for the election of Franklin D. Roosevelt in Kentucky in 1932 and 1936. In 1936, he was selected as president of Murray State Teachers College. He died while in office on July 24, 1945.

 

Scope and Content: Collection consists of correspondence and newspaper clippings related to the life of James H. Richmond, the president of Murray State Teachers College from 1936 to 1945. The collection contains a 1936 appointment book, a typescript copy of John W. Carr’s chapter on Richmond’s administration, addresses made by President Richmond, biographical information, obituaries and miscellaneous ephemera from 1936 to 1945. Included with the papers are correspondence and newspaper clippings of controversial issues during Richmond’s administration such as his salary and students hitchhiking in town.    

 

Subject Headings / Descriptors:

Richmond, James Howell, 1884-1945

Murray State University – Presidents.

Murray State Teachers College – Presidents.

Murray State University – History.

Special Collections & University Archives

LaDonna Hamontree's picture
LaDonna Hamontree
Contact:
270-809-6152