Skip to main content
University Libraries
MSU Home | myGate | RacerNet | Canvas
Facebook Twitter Google Plus Youtube Instagram Pinterest

RG003-12-02 Office of the President - General Records: Home

Address Information

Murray State University

200 Pogue Library

Murray, Kentucky 42071

Phone & Fax Numbers

(270)809-6152

(270)809-4295

FAX (270)809-6153

Contact Special Collections via E-mail

Email us at:       msu.specialcollections@murraystate.edu  

Office of the President - General Records

Collection Title: General Records, 1939-1983
 
Series Number: RG003-12-02
 
Department: Office of the President
 
Processed and Cataloged by: Processed by Noah Strader from February of 2012 to May of 2013
 
Date Listed: May 10, 2013
 
Date Span: 1939-1983
 
Size of Collection: 196.0 linear feet.
 
Number of Boxes:  392 legal size document cases.
 
Type of Material: Correspondence, memorandums, reports, etc.
 
Condition of Material: Good.
 
Arrangement: Organized alphabetically by title of file folder; Chronological arrangement.
 
Historical Information: The Office of the President at Murray State University was established soon after the Murray State Normal School was founded in 1923. Four presidents served between 1936 and 1983 they were James H. Richmond (1936-1945), Ralph H. Woods (1945-1968), Harry M. Sparks (1968-1973) and Constantine W. Curris (1973-1983).
 
Scope and Content: Collection consists of correspondence, memorandums, department and committee reports, program studies, annual financial records, capital construction projects, student and faculty applications and various other materials created or received by the Office of the President of Murray State Teachers College, Murray State College and Murray State University from 1939 to 1983. The collection includes the office files of Presidents James H. Richmond (1939-1945), Ralph H. Woods (1945-1968), Harry M. Sparks (1968-1973) and Constantine W. Curris (1973-1983).
 
Subject Headings / Descriptors:
Richmond, James Howell, 1884-1945.
Woods, Ralph Henry, 1898-1973.
Sparks, Harry Magee, 1907-1996
Curris, Constantine W., 1940-
Murray State University – Presidents.
Murray State College – Presidents.
Murray State Teachers College – Presidents.
Murray State University – History.

Special Collections & University Archives

LaDonna Hamontree's picture
LaDonna Hamontree
Contact:
270-809-6152