Skip to main content
University Libraries
MSU Home | myGate | RacerNet | Canvas
Facebook Twitter Google Plus Youtube Instagram Pinterest

RG003-11-53 John W. Carr - Murray State History Manuscript: Home

Address Information

Murray State University

200 Pogue Library

Murray, Kentucky 42071

Phone & Fax Numbers

(207)809-6152

(270)809-4295

FAX (270)809-6153

Contact Special Collections via E-mail

Email us at:       msu.specialcollections@murraystate.edu  

John W. Carr – Murray State History Manuscript

Collection Title: John W. Carr – Murray State History Manuscript

 

Digital Link: John W. Carr Manuscript

 

Series Number: RG003-11-53

 

Department: Office of the President

 

Processed and Cataloged by: Processed by Dieter C. Ullrich in November of 2011.

 

Date Listed: November 18, 2011

 

Date Span: 1950s

 

Size of Collection:  1.75 linear feet.

 

Number of Boxes:  2 letter sized document cases; 1 letter half sized document case and 1 legal size document case.

 

Type of Material: Typescripts.

 

Condition of Material: Fair with fading and minor rips and tears.

 

Arrangement: Organized by author; Chronological arrangement.

 

Historical Information: Former Murray State Normal School and Murray State Teachers College President, John W. Carr, began to write the history of the school during the early 1950s. After his death in 1960, his manuscripts were given to M. O. Wrather for future publication. Wrather, who served as Executive Vice President, retained Carr’s manuscript in a file cabinet in his campus office until his death in 1970. The Murray State University Libraries acquired Wrather’s papers the following year and were placed in the archives at Pogue Library. The manuscript was eventually published in 1998 and titled “Recollections of Murray State College: An Adventure in Education in Old Kentucky, 1919-1952.”

 

Scope and Content: Collection consists of typescripts of the history of Murray State Normal School, Murray State Teacher College and Murray State College by John W. Carr. The papers include personal copies, drafts, notes, edits from the author and photocopies of originals.

 

Subject Headings / Descriptors:

Carr, John Wesley, 1860-1960.

Murray State University – History.

Murray State College – History.

Murray State Teachers College – History.

Murray State Normal School – History.

Special Collections & University Archives

LaDonna Hamontree's picture
LaDonna Hamontree
Contact:
270-809-6152