Skip to main content
University Libraries
MSU Home | myGate | RacerNet | Canvas
Facebook Twitter Google Plus Youtube Instagram Pinterest

RG003-11-49 John W. Carr Postcards: Home

Address Information

Murray State University

200 Pogue Library

Murray, Kentucky 42071

Phone & Fax Numbers

(207)809-6152

(270)809-4295

FAX (270)809-6153

Contact Special Collections via E-mail

Email us at:       msu.specialcollections@murraystate.edu  

John W. Carr Postcards

Collection Title: John W. Carr Postcard Collection

 

Series Number: RG003-11-49

 

Department: Office of the President

 

Processed and Cataloged by: Processed from October to December of 2011.

 

Date Listed: January 27, 2012

 

Date Span: 1920s-1930s

 

Size of Collection:  1.25 linear feet. 700 postcards.

 

Number of Boxes: 2 letter sized document cases and 1 legal size document case.

 

Type of Material: Postcards and ephemera.

 

Condition of Material: Good.

 

Arrangement: Organized alphabetically by name of country; Chronological arrangement.

 

Historical Information: John W. Carr, former President of Murray State Normal and Teachers College (presently Murray State University), traveled throughout Europe, Africa and Asia in during the late 1920s and early 1930s.

 

Scope and Content: Collection consists of over 700 postcards and images acquired by John W. Carr during his travels throughout Europe, Africa and Asia during the late 1920s to the early 1930s. Included with the postcards are reproduced images of artwork from various museums throughout Europe.  

 

Subject Headings / Descriptors:

Carr, John Wesley, 1859-1960.

Murray State University – Presidents.

Postcards – Europe.

Postcards – Africa.

Postcards – Asia.

Europe – Pictorial works.

Africa – Pictorial works.

Asia – Pictorial works.

 

Research Notes: The collection can be viewed online at http://jpda.murraystate.edu/greenstone/cgi-bin/library.cgi?site=localhost&a=p&p=about&c=dullrich-johnwcar&l=en&w=utf-8 .

Special Collections & University Archives

LaDonna Hamontree's picture
LaDonna Hamontree
Contact:
270-809-6152