Skip to main content
University Libraries
MSU Home | myGate | RacerNet | Canvas
Facebook Twitter Google Plus Youtube Instagram Pinterest

RG003-11-07 75th Anniversary of MSU: Home

Address Information

Murray State University

200 Pogue Library

Murray, Kentucky 42071

Phone & Fax Numbers

(207)809-6152

(270)809-4295

FAX (270)809-6153

Contact Special Collections via E-mail

Email us at:       msu.specialcollections@murraystate.edu  

75th Annivesary of MSU

Collection Title: 75th Anniversary
 
Series Number: RG003-11-07
 
Department: Office of the President
 
Processed and Cataloged by: Processed by Christie Leith on February 22, 2011.
 
Date Listed: February 22, 2011
 
Date Span: 1991-1998 (bulk, 1997-1998)
 
Size of Collection:  4.0 linear feet.
 
Number of Boxes:  4 letter document cases, 1 record center box and 1 oversized box.
 
Type of Material: Meeting minutes, correspondence, e-mails, video and audio tapes, newspaper clippings, ephemera and memorabilia.
 
Condition of Material: Good.
 
Arrangement: Organized alphabetically by subject heading of file folder; Chronological arrangement.
 
Historical Information: On June 2, 1997, President Kern Alexander appointed a steering committee to organize a series of activities and events for the Diamond Anniversary of Murray State University. The committee first met on June 25, 1997 and met regularly until September of 1998. The anniversary concluded with an Opening Day at the Murray Middle School (where the first day of classes occurred on September 23, 1923) and ribbon cutting ceremony of the grand opening of the Regional Special Event Center on September 12, 1998.  
 
Scope and Content: Collection consists of records, documents and items related to the 75th Anniversary of the establishment of Murray State Normal School (presently Murray State University) from 1997 to 1998. The collection contains correspondence, meeting minutes, memorabilia and ephemeral materials developed by the 75th Anniversary Committee to commemorate the event. Included in the collection is information on the Rainey T. Wells statue, time capsule, Founders Day activities, grand opening of the Regional Special Event Center, Diamond Anniversary quilt and commemorative videos, logos and letterheads. 
 
Subject Headings / Descriptors:
Murray State University – History.
Murray State University – 75th Anniversary.

Special Collections & University Archives

LaDonna Hamontree's picture
LaDonna Hamontree
Contact:
270-809-6152