Skip to main content
University Libraries
MSU Home | myGate | RacerNet | Canvas
Facebook Twitter Google Plus Youtube Instagram Pinterest

RG003-11-06 50th Anniversary of MSU: Home

Address Information

Murray State University

200 Pogue Library

Murray, Kentucky 42071

Phone & Fax Numbers

(207)809-6152

(270)809-4295

FAX (270)809-6153

Contact Special Collections via E-mail

Email us at:       msu.specialcollections@murraystate.edu  

50th Anniversary of MSU

Collection Title: 50th Anniversary

 

Series Number: RG003-11-06

 

Department: Office of the President

 

Processed and Cataloged by: Processed by Christie Leith on February 9, 2011

 

Date Listed: February 9, 2011

 

Date Span: 1971-1973

 

Size of Collection:  0.75 linear feet.

 

Number of Boxes:  1 letter size document cases and 1 half size letter document case.

 

Type of Material: Meeting minutes, correspondence, newspaper clippings, ephemera and memorabilia.

 

Condition of Material: Good.

 

Arrangement: Chronological arrangement

 

Historical Information: In June of 1971, President Harry M. Sparks appointed a steering committee to organize a series of activities and events for the Golden Anniversary of Murray State University. The committee first met on September 15, 1971 and met regularly until October of 1973. The anniversary concluded with the re-dedication of the college and the 50th anniversary of the first day of classes on September of 1973.   

 

Scope and Content: Collection consists of correspondence, newspaper clippings and ephemera associated with the 50th Anniversary of the establishment of Murray State Normal School (presently Murray State University) from 1971 to 1973. The collection contains the meeting minutes of the 50th Anniversary Steering Committee and sub-committees, resolutions recognizing the anniversary from both the State Legislature and Senate and memorabilia produced for special events on campus. Included with the collection is information related to the development of a highway marker by the Kentucky Historical Society recognizing the historical significance of the school.

 

Subject Headings / Descriptors:

Murray State University – History.

Murray State University – 50th Anniversary.

Special Collections & University Archives

LaDonna Hamontree's picture
LaDonna Hamontree
Contact:
270-809-6152