Skip to main content
University Libraries
MSU Home | myGate | RacerNet | Canvas
Facebook Twitter Youtube Instagram Pinterest

RG002-11-39 Buildings and Grounds Photographs: Home

Address Information

Murray State University
200 Pogue Library
Murray, Kentucky 42071

Phone & Fax Numbers

(270) 809-6152
(270) 809-4295
FAX (270) 809-6153

E-mail Special Collections

Buildings and Grounds Photographs

Collection Title: Buildings and Grounds Photographs

Digital Link: Jackson Purchase Digital Archives - Murray State Buildings & Grounds

Series Number: RG002-11-39

Department: Department of Journalism and Communications

Processed and Cataloged by: Processed by Jonathan Byrn on August 17, 2011

Date Listed: August 17, 2011

Date Span: 1924-1990s

Size of Collection: 3.25 linear feet

Number of Boxes: 6 letter size document cases and 1 letter half size document case

Type of Material: Photographs, postcards and negatives

Condition of Material: Good

Arrangement: Organized alphabetically by name of building; Chronological arrangement.

Historical Information: The Buildings and Grounds Photographs is a collection of images acquired from various departments and offices on the Murray State University campus from the 1970s to the present. The bulk of the collection was located in the Department of Journalism and Communications which managed the student newspaper, published the yearbook and printed early promotional materials.

Scope and Content: Collection consists of photographic prints, postcards, drawings and negatives of the buildings and grounds on the campus of Murray State University from the 1924 to 1990s. The collection also contains photographs and negatives of the Wickliffe Burial Grounds, Fort Heiman and other structures and properties associated with Murray State University.

Subject Headings / Descriptors:

Murray State University – History.

Murray State University – Pictorial works.

Murray State University – Buildings.

Murray (Ky.) – Pictorial works.

Calloway County (Ky.) – Pictorial works.

Inventory for RG002-11-39

Inventory of Collection
RG002-11-39
Department of Journalism and Communications
Buildings and Grounds Photographs 1924-
Filed by Jonathan Byrn
August 17, 2011

Box 1

  1. Aerial Views of Campus 1935
  2. Aerial Views of Campus 1940s
  3. Aerial Views of Campus 1950s
  4. Aerial Views of Campus 1960s
  5. Aerial Views of Campus 1970s
  6. Aerial Views of Campus 1980s
  7. Aerial Views of Campus 1990s
  8. Special Education Building Alexander Hall (Old)
  9. Alexander Hall
  10. Alumni Center (Easley)
  11. Applied Science and Technology (1965)
  12. Athletic Field prior to building of Cutchin Stadium
  13. Baptist Student Center Property (old center 1948)
  14. Blackburn Science Building (Original 1949, Addition 1968)
  15. Bookstore (15th Street Location)
  16. Breathitt Veterinary Center
  17. Business and Education Building (Construction, Exterior, Interior, Addition)
  18. Regional Special Events Center (CFSB Center) (Construction, Exterior, Interior)
  19. Campus Plan/ Murray State Normal School (Never Materialized) drawn by Joseph & Joseph
  20. Campus Scenes Early 1920s
  21. Campus Scenes 1930s
  22. Campus Scenes 1930s Negatives
  23. Campus Scenes Mid-1930s

Box 2

  1. Campus Scenes 1950s
  2. Campus Scenes 1960s
  3. Campus Scenes 1970s
  4. Campus Scenes 1980s
  5. Campus Scenes 1990s
  6. Carman Agricultural Pavilion
  7. Carr Health Building
  8. Cherry Exposition Center
  9. Central Heating Plant (Old) 1927-1977
  10. Central Heating Plant 1978
  11. Clark Hall
  12. College Courts
  13. College Well (1927)
  14. Collins Industry and Technology
  15. Curris Center
  16. Racer Arena, Cutchin Fieldhouse
  17. Stadium (Construction, Use 1930s-1970s, Demolition, Commemoration)
  18. Doran House
  19. Dorm Master Plans (Regents and White Halls?)
  20. Doyle Fine Arts Center

Box 3

  1. Elizabeth Hall
  2. Maintenance Building Facilities Management Complex
  3. Home Management House (Faculty Club)
  4. Faculty Hall
  5. Fifteenth Street (Circa 1963 & 1983)
  6. Fine Arts (Old) (Exterior, Interior, Fire Damage, Reconstruction, Dedication)
  7. Five Points Sign
  8. Gatlin House
  9. General Services Building (Construction)
  10. Greenhouse
  11. Hancock Biological Station
  12. Hart Hall
  13. Hester Hall
  14. Historical Marker (1972)
  15. Housing Office (Waldrop Drive) *Torn Down
  16. Howton Agricultural Engineering
  17. Hut Restaurant (Original) 1930s
  18. Hut Restaurant (2nd) 1970s
  19. Lovett Auditorium under construction (old)
  20. Lovett Auditorium exterior view (Recent
  21. Lovett Auditorium interior views
  22. Lovett Auditorium cleanup following Fine Arts fire (1994)
  23. Lovett Auditorium Negatives

Box 4

  1. Lowry Center (Construction, Exterior, Interior)
  2. Lowry Center- Jesse Stuart Room
  3. Mason Hall Nursing Building
  4. Married Housing 1950s
  5. Miller Golf Course
  6. Nash House
  7. Thomas P. Norris Home, 1931
  8. Pedestrian Bridge (Curris Center)
  9. Pogue Library (1930s)
  10. Pogue Library (3x4s, 5x7s)
  11. Pogue Library Exterior (8x10s
  12. Pogue Library Negatives (1930s)
  13. Pogue Library Interior (1930s)
  14. Pogue Library Interior (1980 & 1996 renovations) 1980s-1990s
  15. Pogue Library Interior Negatives (1930s)
  16. Pogue Library - Jesse Stuart Room

Box 5

  1. Oakhurst (4x5s, 5x7s)
  2. Oakhurst Exterior, Interior (8x10s)
  3. Ordway Hall (Construction, Early, Interior, Exterior)
  4. Reagan Baseball Field
  5. Regents College
  6. Richmond College
  7. Shoe Tree
  8. Simpson Child Development Center
  9. Sparks Hall
  10. Springer Hall
  11. Stewart Stadium
  12. Stubblefield Gate
  13. Swann Dorm Complex
  14. Tea Room (off-campus eatery)
  15. Telescope (1930)
  16. Tennis Courts (various locations)
  17. Training School
  18. Boy Scout Museum Trio Building
  19. Industrial Arts Shop Building 1947, Visual Arts Building
  20. University Farm - North 16th
  21. University Farm - West

Box 6

  1. Waldrop Street House Public Safety
  2. Waterfield Library
  3. Waterfield Student Union Building
  4. Wells Bronze Statue October 1997
  5. Dr. Wells' Cabin at Fort Heiman
  6. Wells Hall Interior
  7. Wells Hall Exterior
  8. Wells Hall Negatives
  9. Wells Memorial 1960-1995
  10. Wesley Center (New)
  11. White Hall
  12. Wickliffe Mounds
  13. Wilson Hall
  14. Winslow Cafeteria
  15. Woods Hall

Box 7

  1. Wrather Museum (Hall) Interior
  2. Wrather Museum (Hall) Exterior
  3. Wrather Museum (Hall) Negatives
  4. Unidentified

Inventory of RG002-11-39 - PDF