Skip to main content
University Libraries
MSU Home | myGate | RacerNet | Canvas
Facebook Twitter Google Plus Youtube Instagram Pinterest

RG002-10-03 Yearbooks: Home

Address Information

Murray State University

200 Pogue Library

Murray, Kentucky 42071

Phone & Fax Numbers

(207)809-6152

(270)809-4295

FAX (270)809-6153

Contact Special Collections via E-mail

Email us at:       msu.specialcollections@murraystate.edu  

Yearbooks

Collection Title: Yearbooks

Series Number: RG002-10-03

Department: Journalism and Mass Communications

Processed and Cataloged by: Processed by Rachel Kim in January of 2010.

Date Listed: January 14, 2010

Date Span: 1925-2008.

Size of Collection:  10 linear feet.

Number of Boxes:  20 legal document cases; 13x27x39 cm.

Type of Material: Published material.

Condition of Material: Good.

Arrangement: Chronological arrangement

Historical Information: The Murray State University yearbook, titled The Shield, first began publication in 1925. The annual was published by the yearbook staff of the senior class, under an appointed staff business manager, until the mid-1970s. The Department of Journalism and Mass Communication gradually overtook the program and continue to supervise the students that publish the yearbook. The yearbook ceased publication in 2008.    

Scope and Content: Collection consists of Murray State University yearbooks from 1925 to 2008. Included in the collection are yearbooks from the Murray State Normal School, Murray State Teachers College and Murray State College. The yearbooks contain historical information of the college, images of faculty, staff and students, events, athletic programs, academic and Greek organizations, etc. 

Subjec:
Murray State University -- History.
Murray State University -- Yearbook.
 

Special Collections & University Archives

LaDonna Hamontree's picture
LaDonna Hamontree
Contact:
270-809-6152