Skip to main content
University Libraries
MSU Home | myGate | RacerNet | Canvas
Facebook Twitter Google Plus Youtube Instagram Pinterest

MS99-03 Boyd Family Papers: Home

Address Information

Murray State University

200 Pogue Library

Murray, Kentucky 42071

Phone & Fax Numbers

(207)809-6152

(270)809-4295

FAX (270)809-6153

Contact Special Collections via E-mail

Email us at:       msu.specialcollections@murraystate.edu  

Boyd Family Papers

Collection Title: Boyd Family Papers
 
Series Number: MS99-03
 
Processed and Cataloged by: No information listed.  
 
Date Listed: 1999. No exact date listed.
 
Date Span: 1814-1910
 
Size of Collection: 3.0 linear feet.
 
Number of Boxes: 1 legal size document case and 2 oversized boxes.
 
Type of Material: Correspondence and legal and financial documents.
 
Condition of Material: Fair with foxing and fading. A few have water damage.
 
Arrangement: Arranged by type of document.
 
Biographical / Historical Information: The Boyd family arrived in Jackson Purchase, Kentucky from Nashville, Tennessee in 1826. Linn Boyd (1800-1859) served in the Kentucky State Legislature from 1828 to 1837 and from 1839 to 1855. From 1851 to 1855, he was the speaker of the State House of Representatives. In 1859, he was elected lieutenant governor but died before entering office. His son Rhey Boyd (1853- ) was a prominent attorney and Democrat Party leader in Paducah during the early half of the 20th Century.   
 
Scope and Content: Collection consists of correspondence, land deeds, receipts and other financial agreements and legal documents written or received by the Boyd family of the Jackson Purchase, Kentucky from 1814 to 1910. The collection contains letters from O’Bannon, Saunders and Jones families. Included in the collection are transcripts of letters relating to the history of the Jackson Purchase and Paducah, Kentucky from 1812 to 1882, a Boyd family history and photographic prints of family members.
 
Subject Headings / Descriptors:
            Boyd family
            O’Bannon family
            Saunders family
            Jones family
            Boyd, Linn, 1800-1859.
            Jackson Purchase (Ky.) – History.
            Paducah (Ky.) – History.
 
Additional Sources: See The Kentucky Encyclopedia and Histories and Biographies of Ballard, Calloway, Fulton, Graves, Hickman, McCracken and Marshall Counties, Kentucky.
 
 
Box List
 

Box 1

  1. Boyd Family Photos [copies]
  2. Boyd Family Collection MS 99.3 Alfred Boyd, 1939 Family genealogy charts letters
  3. Boyd Family Collection miscellaneous files
  4. Boyd Family Collection MS 99.3 Alfred Boyd- copies of family letters 1939
  5. Murray, KY [Original City Plat]
  6. Boyd Family Collection MS99.3 News clippings 1950s-1980s

Box 2

  1. Fragment of Deed Terence River, N.C.
  2. March 10, 1826 Promise to Pay L. Jones $25.96
  3. To: Mr. Boyd, Letter
  4. Boyd Family Papers, 1814-1910
  5. Boyd Family Papers, 1814-1910
  6. Misc. Boyd Family papers

Box 3

  1. Boyd Family Photos [originals]
  2. Boyd Family Collection MS 99.3 O’Bannon 1840-41
  3. Alfred Boyd Tax Receipt 1860
  4. Misc. Envelopes to: Dr. Henry L. Jones Paducah; Mrs. M.L. Jones, 40 AB, Fredonia, Ark.; Mrs. Maria L. Jones, Evansville, Ind.
  5. Jones, Maria and family Marous Letter and Order of Banishment 1864 Brig. Gen. E.A. Paine
  6. Boyd Collection MS 99.3 correspondence 1999-2000
  7. Letter, Joseph G. Patton, February 21, 1842
  8. Boyd Collection MS 99.3 Letters 129-139 Saunders, Alexander 1815
  9. Misc. Boyd Family papers
 

Special Collections & University Archives

LaDonna Hamontree's picture
LaDonna Hamontree
Contact:
270-809-6152