Skip to main content
University Libraries
MSU Home | myGate | RacerNet | Canvas
Facebook Twitter Google Plus Youtube Instagram Pinterest

MS99-01 Mildred Hatcher Papers: Home

Address Information

Murray State University

200 Pogue Library

Murray, Kentucky 42071

Phone & Fax Numbers

(207)809-6152

(270)809-4295

FAX (270)809-6153

Contact Special Collections via E-mail

Email us at:       msu.specialcollections@murraystate.edu  

Mildred Hatcher Papers

Collection Title: Mildred Hatcher Papers

 

Series Number: 99-01

 

Processed and Cataloged by: Originally processed by Ernie Baily

 

Date Listed: February of 1999

 

Date Span: 1948-1973

 

Size of Collection: 2 linear feet.

 

Number of Boxes: 4 legal size document cases.

 

Type of Material: Manuscripts and typescripts.

 

Condition of Material: Good.

 

Arrangement: Arranged alphabetically by title of subject.

 

Biographical / Historical Information: Mildred Hatcher was born on October 6, 1904 at Murray, Kentucky. She attended local public schools and graduated with a Bachelor of Arts degree from Murray State Normal School in 1927. She received a graduate degree in English from George Peabody College in 1930. She taught at public schools in Murray, Hardin and Paducah, Kentucky from 1924 to 1948. In 1948, she was hired as an English professor at Austin Peay State University, a position she held until 1960. From the fall of 1960 until her retirement in 1973, Hatcher was a faculty instructor at Murray State University. She served on the Board of Directors of the Kentucky Folklore Society and as president of the Tennessee Folklore Society. She died in Murray on November 18, 1995.  

 

Scope and Content: Collection consists of manuscripts and typescripts written by Mildred Hatcher on Kentucky and Tennessee folklore. The papers also contain biographical information, research materials and a collection of essays written by former college students from Austin Peay State University and Murray State University.

 

Subject Headings / Descriptors:

Hatcher, Mildred, 1904-1995

Folklore – Kentucky.

Folklore – Tennessee.

Kentucky – Social life and customs.

Tennessee – Social life and customs.

Box List

Box 1
1. Personal Biographical Material
2. Mildred Hatcher’s personal writings
3. Poetry by Mildred Hatcher
4. Remedies
5. Mildred Hatcher’s Biographical Information
6. Bell Witch
7. Christmas Lore
8. Cooking
9. Birthmarks
10. Superstitions


Box 2
1. Dick Frymire
2. Ghosts
3. Witchcraft
4. Folk Games
5. Molasses
6. Epitaphs
7. Night Riders
8. Tennessee Folklore Society
9. Folk Songs
10. Ballads
11. Kentucky Folklore Record
12. “Vocabulary of Hog Killing” Kelsie Harder
13. Folklore Over 100 Years Ago
14. Ballads [typed paper- author unknown]
15. “Public School of Yesterday and Today” [term paper by Susan Gilmore, 1961]
16. Folk Tales Around the World [Compton’s Encyclopedia, 1962]
17. Folkways of the Mammoth Cave Region by Gordon Wilson [1962]

 

Box 3
1. Misc. student papers

2. Class Papers on various folklore topics done by students in her classes
3. Class Papers on various folklore topics done by students in her classes

 

Special Collections & University Archives

LaDonna Hamontree's picture
LaDonna Hamontree
Contact:
270-809-6152