Skip to main content
University Libraries
MSU Home | myGate | RacerNet | Canvas
Facebook Twitter Google Plus Youtube Instagram Pinterest

MS98-08 A. N. Lodge Letter: Home

Address Information

Murray State University

200 Pogue Library

Murray, Kentucky 42071

Phone & Fax Numbers

(207)809-6152

(270)809-4295

FAX (270)809-6153

Contact Special Collections via E-mail

Email us at:       msu.specialcollections@murraystate.edu  

A. N. Lodge Letter

Collection Title: A. N. Lodge Letter

 

Series Number: MS98-08

 

Processed and Cataloged by: Processed by Dieter C. Ullrich on May 6, 2010.

 

Date Listed: May 6, 2010

 

Date Span: 1849

 

Size of Collection: 0.10 linear feet.

 

Number of Boxes: 1 legal sized file folder; 1 item.

 

Type of Material: Correspondence.

 

Condition of Material: Good.

 

Arrangement: Chronological arrangement.

 

Biographical / Historical Information: A. N. Lodge was sailor aboard the U.S.S. Ohio during the ship’s two year cruise protecting commerce along the California coast in 1848 and 1849.

 

Scope and Content: Collection consists of a photocopied letter written by A. N. Lodge from the flagship U.S.S. Ohio while at San Francisco, California to his uncle, J. J. Lamond, in Madison, Indiana on April 9, 1849. The letter describes the conditions at San Francisco during the peak of the gold rush in California. Lodge mentions exorbitant prices for products and labor, the lack of lumber and miners dying off “like sheep” in the gold fields from “brain fever”. Included with the collection is a transcript of the letter.    

 

Subject Headings / Descriptors:

Lodge, A. N.

Lamond, J. J.

California – History 1846-1850

California – Gold discoveries.

San Francisco (Calif.) – History.

Special Collections & University Archives

LaDonna Hamontree's picture
LaDonna Hamontree
Contact:
270-809-6152