Skip to main content
University Libraries
MSU Home | myGate | RacerNet | Canvas
Facebook Twitter Google Plus Youtube Instagram Pinterest

MS98-04 Nichol Family Papers: Home

Address Information

Murray State University

200 Pogue Library

Murray, Kentucky 42071

Phone & Fax Numbers

(207)809-6152

(270)809-4295

FAX (270)809-6153

Contact Special Collections via E-mail

Email us at:       msu.specialcollections@murraystate.edu  

Nichol Family Papers

Collection Title: Nichol Family Papers
 
Series Number: MS98-04
 
Processed and Cataloged by: Processed by Dieter C. Ullrich on May 4, 2010.
 
Date Listed: May 5, 2010
 
Date Span: 1825-1928 (bulk 1840-1890)
 
Size of Collection: 0.25 linear feet.
 
Number of Boxes: 1 legal half sized document case;
 
Type of Material: Correspondence, financial records and photographs.
 
Condition of Material: Fair with tears, foxing and fading cause by aging and improper storage.
 
Arrangement: Organized alphabetically by subject and type of format; Chronological arrangement.
 
Biographical / Historical Information: The family of John W. Nichol (1796-1866) immigrated to Fulton County, Kentucky in 1829 from Carroll County, Tennessee. Hannibal N. Nichol (1829- ) was a tobacco farmer from Fulton County. Eramus M .Nichol (1824-1848) was a Methodist minister at Jackson, Tennessee.  
 
Scope and Content: Collection consists of correspondence, financial records, deeds and family history information related to the Nichol family of Fulton County, Kentucky from 1825 to 1928. The bulk of the papers are receipts and letters among family members during the latter part of the 19th Century. The correspondence includes a letter from a former prison guard, a member of the 144th Illinois Volunteer Infantry, stationed at the Alton Federal Military Prison during the final months of the Civil War. Another letter dated prior to the Civil War describes the political tensions arising in Salem, Missouri over the possibility of disunion. Included in the collection are photographs of the Nichol family, documents related to the death Eramus M. Nichol and the will of Shadrock Moseley. 
 
Subject Headings / Descriptors:
Nichol family
Nichol, John W., 1796-1866
Nichol, Eramus McWhirter, 1824-1848
Nichol, Hannibal N., 1829-
Fulton County (Ky.)
Hickman County (Ky.)
Salem (Mo.) – History.
Alton (Ill.) – History.
Alton Penitentiary (Ill.)
United States – History – Civil War, 1861-1865 – Prisoners and prisons.
 
Box List
Box 1
  1. Correspondence 1851-1928
  2. Deeds 1825-1904
  3. Pocket Ledger 1848
  4. Correspondence- Photocopies
  5. Erasmus McWhirter Nichol 1847-1848
  6. Financial Records 1841-1906
  7. Photographs and Postcards
  8. Miscellaneous Papers
  9. Shadrach Moseley Will 1834
  10. Insurance Policies 1906
  11. Ephemera 

Special Collections & University Archives

LaDonna Hamontree's picture
LaDonna Hamontree
Contact:
270-809-6152