Skip to main content
University Libraries
MSU Home | myGate | RacerNet | Canvas
Facebook Twitter Google Plus Youtube Instagram Pinterest

MS98-02 Dollie Allen Curd Papers: Home

Address Information

Murray State University

200 Pogue Library

Murray, Kentucky 42071

Phone & Fax Numbers

(207)809-6152

(270)809-4295

FAX (270)809-6153

Contact Special Collections via E-mail

Email us at:       msu.specialcollections@murraystate.edu  

MS98-02

Collection Title: Dollie Allen Curd Papers

 

Series Number: MS98-02

 

Processed and Cataloged by: Processed by Dieter C. Ullrich on May 3, 2010.

 

Date Listed: May 4, 2010

 

Date Span: 1882-1912

 

Size of Collection: 0.10 linear feet.

 

Number of Boxes: 1 legal sized file folder; 19 items.

 

Type of Material: Correspondence, certificates and photographs.

 

Condition of Material: Good.

 

Arrangement: Chronological arrangement.

 

Biographical / Historical Information: Dollie Allen Curd was an elementary school teacher from Murray, Kentucky. She was born in Calloway County, Kentucky on March 8, 1864. She attended the Murray Male and Female Institute and graduated in 1882. Curd was certified to teach at the age of eighteen. She taught at the Murray City Schools until 1909 when she briefly taught in Fannin County, Georgia. She returned to Murray, where she taught First Grade for over twenty years. Curd retired at seventy three and died on August 19, 1939 at the age of seventy five.  

 

Scope and Content: Collection consists of teaching certificates, licenses, diplomas and letters of recommendation for Dollie Allen Curd of Murray, Kentucky from 1882 to 1912. The collection includes teaching certificates issued by the Commonwealth of Kentucky and the State of Georgia, a diploma from Murray Male and Female Institute and photographs of Curd and her students.

 

Subject Headings / Descriptors:

Curd, Dollie Allen, 1864-1939

Teachers – Kentucky – Murray.

Teachers – Georgia – Fannin County.

Special Collections & University Archives

LaDonna Hamontree's picture
LaDonna Hamontree
Contact:
270-809-6152