Skip to main content
University Libraries
MSU Home | myGate | RacerNet | Canvas
Facebook Twitter Google Plus Youtube Instagram Pinterest

MS97-01 Murray Rotary Club Records: Home

Address Information

Murray State University

200 Pogue Library

Murray, Kentucky 42071

Phone & Fax Numbers

(207)809-6152

(270)809-4295

FAX (270)809-6153

Contact Special Collections via E-mail

Email us at:       msu.specialcollections@murraystate.edu  

Murray Rotary Club Records

Collection Title: Murray Rotary Club Records
 
Series Number: MS97-01
 
Processed and Cataloged by: Originally processed by Ernie Bailey. Reprocessed by Reagan Meredith from September of 2013 to May of 2014. Added to by Sarai Dunn 2017.
 
Date Span: 1924-2005
 
Size of Collection: 9.0 linear feet.
 
Number of Boxes: 16 legal size document cases and 1 oversized box.
 
Type of Material: Newsletters, newspaper clippings, meeting minutes, DVDs, photographs and ephemera.
 
Condition of Material: Good.
 
Arrangement: Organized by title of subject heading. Chronological arrangement.
 
Biographical / Historical Information: The Murray Rotary Club was established on April 4, 1924 by a group of Murray, Kentucky businessmen to encourage and foster service to the community and promote high ethical standards in business. Its membership over the past 80 years has included Murray’s most prominent business entrepreneurs, professionals and local and regional politicians.
 
Scope and Content: Collection consists of correspondence, newsletters, membership directories, attendance records, financial records, annual reports, meeting minutes, event programs and video histories created or related to the Murray Rotary Club from 1924 to 2005. The collection also contains newspapers clippings, photographs, memorabilia and ephemera related to events sponsored by the Rotary Club of Murray.
 
Subject Headings / Descriptors:
Civic leaders – Kentucky – Murray.
Civil service – Kentucky – Murray.
Rotary Club (Murray, Ky.) – History.
Clubs – Kentucky – Murray.

Video Interviews with Past Presidents

Inventory to MS97-01

Box List

Box 1

  1. 3.5 Inch Floppy disks
  2. Agenda For Club Meetings
  3. Amphitheater Construction
  4. Annual Banquet Programs (2004-2012)
  5. Archives Committee
  6. Auction
  7. Board Handbook
  8. Board Minutes (1981-1986)
  9. Boy Scout Information
  10. Budgets
  11. By-Laws and Constitution/Amendments
  12. Certificates/Dedications
  13. Classifications (1963-1970s)
  14. Committees (1950s-1980s)

Box 2

  1. Committee Reports/Records (1980s)
  2. Constitution/By-laws/President Workbook (1980s)
  3. Correspondents (1940s)
  4. Correspondents (1940s-1950s)
  5. Correspondents (1968-69)
  6. Correspondence/Misc. (1980s)
  7. Correspondence (1988-89)
  8. Correspondence (1990-1992)
  9. Correspondence (1993-1999)
  10. Correspondence (May 2000-March 2001)
  11. Correspondence (May 2001-April 2002)
  12. Correspondence (May 2002-June 2003)
  13. Correspondence (2004-Unknown)
  14. Directories

Box 3

  1. Directors and Officers
  2. District Awards (2004-2005)
  3. District Conferences
  4. District Operations Manual and Fact Book
  5. Ephemera (1990s)
  6. Ephemera (1)
  7. Ephemera (2)
  8. Financial Papers (1980s-1990s)
  9. Financial Papers/Receipts (March 2000-August 2000)
  10. Financial Papers/Receipts (September 2000-December 2000)
  11. Financial Papers/Receipts (Jan.-Dec. 2001)
  12. Financial Papers/Receipts (August 2001- Feb. 2002)

Box 4

  1. Financial Papers/Receipts (Sept.-Dec. 2001)
  2. Financial Papers/Receipts (March 2002-May 2002)
  3. Financial Papers/Receipts (May 2002-Nov. 2002)
  4. Financial Papers/Receipts (November 2002-March 2003)
  5. Financial Papers/Receipts (April & May 2003)
  6. Financial Papers/Receipts  (June 2003)
  7. Fundraising
  8. Handbook For Officers and Directors (1983-84)
  9. Handbook For Officers and Directors (1985-86)
  10. Handbook For Officers and Directors (1986-87)
  11. Handbook For Officers and Directors (1988-89)
  12. Handbook For Officers and Directors (1991-92)
  13. Handbook For Officers and Directors (1992-93)

Box 5

  1. Handbook For Officers and Directors (1996-97)
  2. History
  3. Indoctrination- First Draft
  4. Indoctrination Program Outline
  5. International Youth Exchange
  6. Kentucky Charity Horse Show
  7. Meeting Summaries (2000)
  8. Meeting Summaries (2001)
  9. Meeting Summaries (Jan.-June 2002)
  10. Meeting Summaries (July-Dec. 2002)
  11. Meeting Summaries (Jan.-June 2003)
  12. Meeting Summaries (July-Dec. 2003)
  13. Meeting Summaries (2004)
  14. Member Attendance (1939-42)
  15. Member Attendance (1989)

Box 6

  1. Member Attendance (1990)
  2. Member Attendance (1991)
  3. Member Attendance (1992)
  4. Member Attendance (1993)
  5. Member Attendance (1994)
  6. Member Attendance (1995)
  7. Member Attendance (1996)
  8. Member Invoices (2000)
  9. Member Invoices (2001)
  10. Member Invoices (2002-2003)
  11. Membership Lists (1950s-1980s)
  12. Membership Lists (1980- )
  13. Membership Recruitment
  14. Murray Rotary Telethon (1999)

Box 7

  1. Meeting Minutes (June-December 1988)
  2. Meeting Minutes (1989)
  3. Meeting Minutes (January-June 1990)
  4. Meeting Minutes (July-December 1990)
  5. Meeting Minutes (January-June 1991)
  6. Meeting Minutes (July-December 1991)
  7. Meeting Minutes (January-June 1992)
  8. Meeting Minutes (July-December 1992)
  9. Meeting Minutes (January-June 1993)
  10. Meeting Minutes (July-December 1993)
  11. Meeting Minutes (January-June 1994)
  12. Meeting Minutes (July-December 1994)
  13. Meeting Minutes (January-June 1995)
  14. Meeting Minutes (July-December 1995)
  15. Meeting Minutes (January-June 1996)
  16. Meeting Minutes (July-December 1996)
  17. Meeting Minutes (January-June 1997)
  18. Meeting Minutes (July-December 1997)
  19. Meeting Minutes (January-June 1998)
  20. Meeting Minutes (July-December 1998)
  21. Meeting Minutes (January-June 1999)
  22. Meeting Minutes (July-December 1999)

Box 8

  1. Meeting Minutes (January-June 2000)
  2. Meeting Minutes (July-December 2000)
  3. Meeting Minutes (January-June 2001)
  4. Meeting Minutes (July-December 2001)
  5. Meeting Minutes (January-June 2002)
  6. Meeting Minutes (July-December 2002)
  7. Meeting Minutes (January-June 2003)
  8. Meeting Minutes (July-December 2003)
  9. Meeting Minutes (January-June 2004)
  10. Meeting Minutes (July-December 2004)
  11. Meeting Minutes (January-June 2005)
  12. Meeting Minutes (July-August 2015)
  13. Committee of Committees

Box 9

  1. New Members (July 2002-June 2003)
  2. New Members (July 2003- June 2004)
  3. Newspaper Clippings (1970-1971)
  4. Newspaper Clippings (1972-1974)
  5. Newspaper Clippings (1975-1980)
  6. Newspaper Clippings (1980-)
  7. Newspapers (2000-2003)
  8. Notes on Board Meeting Agenda ( 1980s)
  9. Outline of Classifications
  10. Parade
  11. Polio Plus
  12. Presidents of Murray Rotary
  13. Visit of RI Pres. Elect John Green (2016)
  14. Projects/Ideas/Award Applications
  15. Rotary Dictionary Project
  16. Radio Spots
  17. Requests for Leaves of Absences/Excuses/Resignations (1986-1988)
  18. Requests for Leaves of Absences/Excuses/Resignations (1989-1990)

Box 10

  1. Requests for Leaves of Absences/Excuses/Resignations (1991-1992)
  2. Requests for Leaves of Absences/Excuses/Resignations (1993)
  3. Requests for Leaves of Absences/Excuses/Resignations (1994-1996)
  4. Resolutions
  5. R.I. News/District Governor Newsletter (1980s)
  6. ROTA Patter Questionnaires
  7. Rotary Ann and Ladies Night Programs (1940s-1980s)
  8. Scholarship Material
  9. Special Projects (2000-2003)
  10. Sponsored Activities (2000-2003)
  11. Themes/Budgets/Progress Schedule/Annual Report (1980)
  12. Transfer Forms and Indoctrination (1990-1995)
  13. Tsunami Relief (2005)
  14. Warning Letters (1988)
  15. Warning Letters (1989)
  16. Warning Letters (1990)
  17. Warning Letters (1991-1992)
  18. Warning Letters (1993-1994)
  19. Yearly/Monthly Programs (1950s-1980s)
  20. Weekly Planner (2013-2014)
  21. Video Interviews With Past Presidents

Box 11

  1. Club Reminders (1920s)
  2. Streamliners (1941)
  3. Streamliners (1942)
  4. Rota Patter (1943-47)
  5. Rota Patter (1948-49)
  6. Rota Patter (1953)
  7. Rota Patter (1954)
  8. Rota Patter (1955)
  9. Rota Patter (1956)
  10. Rota Patter (1957)
  11. Rota Patter (1959)

Box 12

  1. Rota Patter (1960-62)
  2. Rota Patter (1963)
  3. Rota Patter (1964)
  4. Rota Patter (January-June 1965)
  5. Rota Patter (July-December 1965)
  6. Rota Patter (1966)
  7. Rota Patter (1967)
  8. Rota Patter (1968)
  9. Rota Patter (1969)
  10. Rota Patter (1970)
  11. Rota Patter (1971)
  12. Rota Patter (1972)
  13. Rota Patter (1973)
  14. Rota Patter (1974)

Box 13

  1. Rota Patter (1975)
  2. Rota Patter (1976)
  3. Rota Patter (1977)
  4. Rota Patter (1978)
  5. Rota Patter (1979)
  6. Rota Patter (1980)
  7. Rota Patter (1981)
  8. Rota Patter (1982)
  9. Rota Patter (1983)
  10. Rota Patter (1984)
  11. Rota Patter (1985)
  12. Rota Patter (1986)
  13. Rota Patter (1987)
  14. Rota Patter (1987)
  15. Rota Patter (1988)
  16. Rota Patter (1989)

Box 14

  1. Programs (1990)
  2. Programs (1991)
  3. Programs (1992)
  4. Programs (1993)
  5. Programs (1994)
  6. Programs (1995)
  7. Programs (1996)
  8. Programs (1997)
  9. Programs (1998)
  10. Programs (1999)
  11. Programs (2000)
  12. Programs (2001)
  13. Programs (2002)
  14. Rota Patter (1947-1980)
  15. Rota Patter (2004-2005)

Box 15

  1. Semi-Annual Reports (1960s)
  2. Semi-Annual Reports (1970-1974)
  3. Semi-Annual Reports (1978-1982)
  4. Semi-Annual Reports (1983-1984)
  5. Semi-Annual Reports (1985-1986)
  6. Semi-Annual Reports (1988-1989)
  7. Semi-Annual Reports (1989-1990)
  8. Semi-Annual Reports (1991-1992)
  9. Semi-Annual Reports (1993-1994)
  10. Semi-Annual Reports (1995-1996)

Box 16

  1. Assorted Pictures from Throughout Club’s History
  2. Binder with member lists and pictures

Box 17

  1. Murray Rotary Club Newsletter (2014)
  2. Murray Rotary Club Newsletter (2015)
  3. Murray Rotary Club Newsletter (2016)
  4. Murray Rotary Club Newsletter (2017)
  5. Murray Rota Patter (2002-2003)
  6. Murray Rota Patter (2003-2010)
  7. Kiss A Pig
  8. Misc.
  9. Monica Sullivan

Box 18

  1. Rota Patter Ladies Night Edition (October 31, 1946)
  2. The Jeffersonian newspaper (July 17, 1953)
  3. Rota Patter Annual Ladies’ Night Edition (March 30, 1978)
  4. Rotary International Seventy-Fifth Anniversary newspaper (April 9,1999) (numerous copies)

Special Collections & University Archives

LaDonna Hamontree's picture
LaDonna Hamontree
Contact:
270-809-6152