Skip to main content
University Libraries
MSU Home | myGate | RacerNet | Canvas
Facebook Twitter Google Plus Youtube Instagram Pinterest

MS95-13 Broach Family Papers: Home

Address Information

Murray State University

200 Pogue Library

Murray, Kentucky 42071

Phone & Fax Numbers

(207)809-6152

(270)809-4295

FAX (270)809-6153

Contact Special Collections via E-mail

Email us at:       msu.specialcollections@murraystate.edu  

Broach Family Papers

Collection Title: Broach Family Papers
 
Series Number: 95-13
 
Processed and Cataloged by: No information listed.
 
Date Listed: 1995. No exact date listed.
 
Date Span: 1842-1915
 
Size of Collection: 0.1 linear feet.
 
Number of Boxes: 1 file folder.
 
Type of Material: Correspondence.
 
Condition of Material: Good.
 
Arrangement: Chronological arrangement.
 
Biographical / Historical Information: The family of James Broach arrived in Henry County, Tennessee from Caswell County, North Carolina in the late 1840s. Thomas Jefferson Broach, 5th Tennessee Volunteer Infantry (Confederate), was wounded at the Battle of Peach Tree Creek and his right arm amputated. Addison Broach was a medical doctor who was discharged from the military because of a disability. 
 
Scope and Content: Collection consists of photocopied transcripts of correspondence written and received by members of the Broach family of Henry County, Tennessee during the American Civil War. The collection contains letters from soldiers imprisoned at Camp Douglas, Illinois and Camp Morton, Indiana. The collection also includes correspondence from Thomas Jefferson Broach and a family friend prior to and following the Battle of Peachtree Creek and a letter written in 1915 describing the capture and imprisonment of M. V. New of the 55th Tennessee Infantry Regiment.   
 
Subject Headings / Descriptors:
            United States – History -- Civil War, 1861-1865 – Sources.
            United States – History -- Civil War, 1861-1865 – Prisoners and prison.
            Camp Douglas (Ill.)
            Camp Morton (Ind.)
            Atlanta Campaign, 1864.
            Deatherage, N. B.
            Rainey, Josiah L.
            Broach, Thomas Jefferson, 1835-
            Broach, Addison, 1836-
 
Additional Sources: See Henry County, Tenn.: Census of 1850 and A history of the Henry County commands which served in the Confederate States Army.

Special Collections & University Archives

LaDonna Hamontree's picture
LaDonna Hamontree
Contact:
270-809-6152