Skip to main content
University Libraries
MSU Home | myGate | RacerNet | Canvas
Facebook Twitter Google Plus Youtube Instagram Pinterest

MS95-04 Robert McCann Collection: Home

Address Information

Murray State University

200 Pogue Library

Murray, Kentucky 42071

Phone & Fax Numbers

(207)809-6152

(270)809-4295

FAX (270)809-6153

Contact Special Collections via E-mail

Email us at:       msu.specialcollections@murraystate.edu  

Robert McCann Collection

Collection Title: Robert McCann Collection

 

Series Number: MS95-04

 

Processed and Cataloged by: Originally processed by Keith M. Heim. Reprocessed by Dieter C. Ullrich.

 

Date Listed: Originally listed in 1995. Relisted on April 9, 2010.

 

Date Span: 1811-1882 (bulk 1842-1882)

 

Size of Collection: 0.75 linear feet.

 

Number of Boxes: 1 legal size document case and 1 legal half sized document case.

 

Type of Material: Correspondence, legal documents and postcards.

 

Condition of Material: Fair with minor tears, foxing and fading of documents due to aging and improper storage.

 

Arrangement: Chronological arrangement.

 

Biographical / Historical Information: Robert McCann was a professor of Computer Studies at Murray State University from 1965 until his death in 1983. His father-in-law, Brown Coy Tucker, donated family correspondence and records to the Murray State University Archives in his son-in-law’s name in 1986.   

 

Scope and Content: Collection consists of correspondence and legal documents related to the Scott family of Calloway County, Kentucky from 1811 to 1882. The correspondence contains a small amount of Civil War letters, including one from a Union officer at Vicksburg, Mississippi on July 2, 1863 and another from a woman at Louisville, Kentucky following the Battle of Fort Donelson. The collection also includes a letter describing a tornado that struck Elkland, Missouri in April of 1880. The bulk of the letters discuss family issues, crop prices, weather conditions and political issues of the day. Most of the letters were sent or received in the states of Kentucky, Missouri or Texas. Included with the correspondence are postcards of various sites in central Kentucky.

 

Subject Headings / Descriptors:

McCann, Robert, 1930-1983.

Scott family.

Fair Grove (Mo.)

Greene County (Mo.)

Elkland (Mo.)

Webster County (Mo.)

Forney (Tex.)

Mesquite (Tex.)

Kaufman County (Tex.)

Calloway County (Ky.)

Coldwater (Ky.)

Lexington (Ky.)

United States – History – Civil War, 1861-1865 – Personal narratives.

 

Box List

Box 1

  1. Finding Aid
  2. Correspondence 1811
  3. Correspondence 1818
  4. Summons 1819
  5. Deed 1821
  6. Correspondence 1826
  7. Correspondence 1827
  8. Correspondence 1832
  9. Correspondence 1833
  10. Collections Correspondence 1834
  11. Correspondence 1836
  12. Correspondence 1837
  13. Correspondence 1838
  14. Correspondence 1839
  15. Correspondence 1840
  16. Correspondence 1841
  17. Correspondence 1842
  18. Correspondence 1843
  19. Correspondence 1844
  20. Correspondence 1845
  21. Correspondence 1846
  22. Correspondence 1847
  23. Correspondence 1848
  24. Correspondence 1849
  25. Correspondence 1850
  26. Correspondence 1851
  27. Correspondence 1852
  28. Correspondence 1853
  29. Correspondence 1854
  30. Correspondence 1855
  31. Correspondence 1856
  32. Correspondence 1857
  33. Correspondence 1858
  34. Correspondence 1859
  35. Correspondence 1860
  36. Collection Correspondence 1861
  37. Correspondence 1862
  38. Correspondence 1863
  39. Correspondence 1864
  40. Correspondence 1866
  41. Correspondence 1867

Box 2

  1. Correspondence 1871
  2. Correspondence 1872
  3. Correspondence 1873
  4. Correspondence 1874
  5. Correspondence 1875
  6. Correspondence 1876
  7. Correspondence 1877
  8. Correspondence 1878
  9. Correspondence 1879
  10. Correspondence 1880 Elkland, Missouri Tornado
  11. Correspondence 1881
  12. Correspondence 1882
  13. Correspondence No Dates
  14. Envelopes
  15. Ephemera
  16. Newspaper Clippings
  17. Postcards

 

Special Collections & University Archives

LaDonna Hamontree's picture
LaDonna Hamontree
Contact:
270-809-6152