Skip to main content
University Libraries
MSU Home | myGate | RacerNet | Canvas
Facebook Twitter Google Plus Youtube Instagram Pinterest

MS93-05 L. J. Hortin Papers: Home

Address Information

Murray State University

200 Pogue Library

Murray, Kentucky 42071

Phone & Fax Numbers

(207)809-6152

(270)809-4295

FAX (270)809-6153

Contact Special Collections via E-mail

Email us at:       msu.specialcollections@murraystate.edu  

L. J. Horton Papers

Collection Title: L. J. Hortin Papers
 
Series Number: 93-05
 
Processed and Cataloged by: Originally processed by Keith M. Heim.
 
Date Listed: September and October of 1993. Addendum to collection December of 1998. No exact date of listing.
 
Date Span: 1933-1993
 
Size of Collection: 7.0 linear feet.
 
Number of Boxes: 1 legal size document case.
 
Type of Material: Correspondence, newspaper clippings, photographs, ephemera and memorabilia.
 
Condition of Material: Good.
 
Arrangement: Chronological arrangement.
 
Biographical / Historical Information: Loren Joseph Hortin was born at Albion, Illinois in 1904. He attended McKendree College at Lebanon, Illinois and graduated in 1927. After graduation he taught at various high schools in Illinois and worked as a reporter for the Saint Louis Post-Dispatch. In 1928, he was hired as a faculty member at Murray State Normal School as an instructor of journalism. From 1930 to 1947, he was a staff writer for the Associated Press, Louisville Courier-Journal and Paducah Sun-Democrat. He acquired a Master of Arts degree from Murray State College in 1943. In 1947, he became director of the School of Journalism at Ohio University in Athens, Ohio. Hortin returned to Murray State in 1967 and acted as head of the journalism program until his retirement in 1974. Between 1928 and 1938, he was a member of the Executive Committee of the Lower Tennessee Valley Association, which sought to construct a dam on the lower Tennessee River. He also was the manager of the City Chamber of Commerce at Murray from 1934 to 1938. He was elected into the Kentucky Journalism Hall of Fame in 1981 and received honorary doctorates from McKendree College and Murray State University. He died on November 27, 1992.
 
Scope and Content: Collection consists of correspondence, newspaper clippings and photographs amassed by L. J. Hortin from 1933 to 1992. The bulk of the collection focuses on the activities of the Lower Tennessee Valley Association and the Tennessee Valley Authority in the states of Kentucky and Tennessee during the 1930s and 1940s. The papers contain his personal and professional correspondence from 1957 to 1985, most being from the 1960s and 1970s. Included in the collection are typescript articles, poems, awards, certificates and other memorabilia.
 
Subject Headings / Descriptors:
Hortin, Loren Joseph, 1904-1992
Tennessee Valley Authority
Lower Tennessee Valley Association
Aurora Dam Club
Murray State University
Journalism, College
 
Box List

Box 1

  1. Hortin- biographical materials
  2. Newspaper clippings, etc. Personal
  3. Hortin- Reception at Pogue Library, Oct. 8, 1993
  4. Hortin- photos
  5. Hortin’s writings
  6. Poems by L.J. Hortin
  7. “Hortin Chart”
  8. Hortin Scholarship Est. 1978
  9. Scholarship Newsprint articles
  10. Honors, awards, tributes
  11. Honors, awards, tributes

Box 2

  1. Correspondence- 1950’s
  2. Correspondence- 1960’s
  3. Correspondence- 1960’s
  4. Correspondence- 1970’s
  5. Correspondence- 1970’s
  6. Correspondence- 1970’s
  7. Correspondence- 1980’s
  8. Correspondence- Stroup
  9. Graham, Gene
  10. Arnow, Harriette Simpson
  11. Arnow Newsprint Articles
  12. Louisville Trip, 1979

Box 3

  1. TVA- LTVA-history, chronology
  2. TVA- LTVA- articles of incorporation
  3. TVA- LTVA- resolutions
  4. TVA- LTVA- financial records
  5. TVA- LTVA- financial records
  6. TVA- LTVA- financial records
  7. TVA- LTVA- minutes
  8. TVA- LTVA- Kentucky Project
  9. TVA- LTVA- correspondence, articles, etc.
  10. TVA- LTVA- Correspondence

Box 4

  1. TVA- LTVA- photos
  2. TVA- LTVA- press releases
  3. TVA- LTVA- Telegrams
  4. TVA- clippings
  5. TVA- clippings
  6. TVA- clippings

Box 5

  1. TVA- clippings Oct. 23- Dec. 21, 1933 Aurora Dam Project
  2. TVA- clippings Jan. 4- July 26, 1934 Aurora Dam Status
  3. TVA- clippings Aug. 9- Dec. 2, 1934
  4. TVA- clippings Jan. 10- Dec. 24, 1935
  5. TVA- clippings Jan. 30- July 16, 1936
  6. TVA- clippings Jan. 7- Oct. 14, 1937
  7. TVA- clippings Jan. 20- July 7, 1938
  8. TVA- clippings Sept. 28- Oct 11, 1945
  9. TVA- Kentucky Dam Dedication
  10. TVA- Barkley Dam Dedication 1966
  11. TVA- Correspondence- Congressional correspondence
  12. TVA- Hearings
  13. TVA- Power

Box 6

  1. TVA- photos
  2. TVA- photos
  3. TVA- Symposium
  4. TVA- Tennessee Valley Perspective
  5. TVA- Hortin Speeches
  6. TVA- 50th Anniversary- copy and photos
  7. TVA- Luther Draffen
  8. TVA- Correspondence- Noble J. Gregory
  9. TVA- Correspondence

Box 7

  1. Murray Chamber of Commerce correspondence. Much of it dealing with proposed Kentucky Dam: A
  2. Murray Chamber of Commerce correspondence. Much of it dealing with proposed Kentucky Dam: B.
  3. Murray Chamber of Commerce correspondence. Much of it dealing with proposed Kentucky Dam: C
  4. Murray Chamber of Commerce correspondence. Much of it dealing with proposed Kentucky Dam: D
  5. Murray Chamber of Commerce correspondence. Much of it dealing with proposed Kentucky Dam: E
  6. Murray Chamber of Commerce correspondence. Much of it dealing with proposed Kentucky Dam: F
  7. Murray Chamber of Commerce correspondence. Much of it dealing with proposed Kentucky Dam: G
  8. Murray Chamber of Commerce correspondence. Much of it dealing with proposed Kentucky Dam: H
  9. Murray Chamber of Commerce correspondence. Much of it dealing with proposed Kentucky Dam: I
  10. Murray Chamber of Commerce correspondence. Much of it dealing with proposed Kentucky Dam: J
  11. Murray Chamber of Commerce correspondence. Much of it dealing with proposed Kentucky Dam: K
  12. Murray Chamber of Commerce correspondence. Much of it dealing with proposed Kentucky Dam: L
  13. Murray Chamber of Commerce correspondence. Much of it dealing with proposed Kentucky Dam: M
  14. Murray Chamber of Commerce correspondence. Much of it dealing with proposed Kentucky Dam: Mc
  15. Murray Chamber of Commerce correspondence. Much of it dealing with proposed Kentucky Dam: N
  16. Murray Chamber of Commerce correspondence. Much of it dealing with proposed Kentucky Dam: O
  17. Murray Chamber of Commerce correspondence. Much of it dealing with proposed Kentucky Dam: P
  18. Murray Chamber of Commerce correspondence. Much of it dealing with proposed Kentucky Dam: R
  19. Murray Chamber of Commerce correspondence. Much of it dealing with proposed Kentucky Dam: S
  20. Murray Chamber of Commerce correspondence. Much of it dealing with proposed Kentucky Dam: T
  21. Murray Chamber of Commerce correspondence. Much of it dealing with proposed Kentucky Dam: U
  22. Murray Chamber of Commerce correspondence. Much of it dealing with proposed Kentucky Dam: V
  23. Murray Chamber of Commerce correspondence. Much of it dealing with proposed Kentucky Dam: W

Box 8

  1. Hortin’s Master’s Thesis Murray State College- 1943
  2. Photos
  3. Ohio University Photos
  4. Ohio University Retirement Letters 1967
  5. Mellie Scott Hortin [1908-1993]

Oversized Boxes*

  1. MSU Scrapbook Compiled 1983
  2. Lexington Leader K.I.P.A. Award Best Paper 1933 trophy
  3. Second Best All Round College Newspaper 1932 trophy
  4. Plaques

  1. Plaques and awards

  1. Awards and diplomas

Special Collections & University Archives

LaDonna Hamontree's picture
LaDonna Hamontree
Contact:
270-809-6152