Skip to main content
University Libraries
MSU Home | myGate | RacerNet | Canvas
Facebook Twitter Google Plus Youtube Instagram Pinterest

MS93-03 June Laffoon Taylor Collection: Home

Address Information

Murray State University

200 Pogue Library

Murray, Kentucky 42071

Phone & Fax Numbers

(207)809-6152

(270)809-4295

FAX (270)809-6153

Contact Special Collections via E-mail

Email us at:       msu.specialcollections@murraystate.edu  

June Laffoon Taylor Collection

Collection Title: June Laffoon Taylor Collection

 

Creator: June Laffoon Taylor

 

Series Number: MS93-03

 

Processed and Cataloged by: No record exists on who processed the collection or what date it was processed. Updated by Sarah Hopley March 2016.

 

Date Listed: July 9, 2010

 

Inclusive Dates: 1941-1983

 

Quantity: 18.0 linear feet

 

Language: English

 

Type of Material: Correspondence, newspaper clippings, photographs and memorabilia.

 

Condition of Material: Good

 

Restrictions: None

 

Arrangement: Organized by format of material; Chronological arrangement.

Abstract: (Annise) June Laffoon Taylor was the highest serving female in Kentucky history when she became Chief of Staff to Governor John Y. Brown. Her family owned a coal mine in western Kentucky. Material covers her almost her entire life, from 1941 - 1983. Collection contains newspaper clippings, correspondence, memorabilia, personal notes, photographs, gifts, and awards given to Ms. Taylor throughout her career.

 

Biographical / Historical Information: Annise June Laffoon Taylor was a Democratic Party leader from Kentucky during the latter half of the 20th Century. She was born at Earlington, Kentucky on June 11, 1921 and was a distant relative of Ruby Laffoon, governor of Kentucky from 1931 to 1935. She attended local public schools and attended Murray State College from 1939 to 1941. Taylor relocated to Frankfort in 1941 where she worked for the Kentucky Department of Economic Security, Kentucky State Treasury and Kentucky State Democratic Headquarters. She served as Assistant Secretary of State from 1959 to 1962 and as secretary to the Young Democrats Club from 1961 to 1965. She also worked on the gubernatorial campaigns of Edward T. Breathitt, Bert T. Combs and John Y. Brown. Later in her career, she was the Executive Secretary to Governor Breathitt and Chief of Staff to Governor Brown. She retired from politics in November of 1983.

 

Scope and Content: Collection consists of correspondence, newspaper clippings and photographs associated with the political career of June Laffoon Taylor of Frankfort, Kentucky from 1941 to 1983. The collection also contains scrapbooks, speeches, biographical information, family histories, memorabilia and artifacts kept by Taylor. Included with the collection are correspondence, documents and photographs related to the administration of Governor John Y. Brown of Kentucky from 1979 to 1983. 

 

Related Materials: Remembering June Laffoon Taylor's Lifelong Career in Kentucky Politics, on WKMS. http://digitalcommons.murraystate.edu/spec_coll_wkms/18/

 

Subject Headings / Descriptors:

Taylor, Annise June Laffoon, 1921-2004

Brown, John Young, 1933-

Politicians – Kentucky.

Kentucky – Politics and government – 1951-

Women politicians – Kentucky.

Box List:

Box 1

1. Correspondence-retirement

2. Correspondence

3. Memorabilia

4. Awards, Citations, Certificates, etc.

Box 2

1. Biographical, genealogical materials

2. Newspaper Clippings

3. Speeches

4. Laffoon-Coffman Family Information

5. Greeting Cards

Box 3

1. Photographs [personal older photos of Laffoon and Coffman families, etc.]

2. June Taylor's retirement reception [11/6/1983]

3. Photographs [miscellaneous political, semi-political and social]

4. Photos [National Political]

5. Photos [Kentucky Political]

6. N/A

7. Photographs [Personal]

8. Photos [personal with family]

9. Photos- John and Edward Kennedy

10. Photos- political, presidents

Box 4

1. Bibles, personal family materials from Laffoon and Coffman families

Box 5

1. Photos [John Y Brown and Family]

2. Col. David Roeder [hostage in Iran] 1980

3. Gen. James Dozier

4. Col. Harland Sanders [unveiling of bust and funeral service]

5. John Y Brown [family and administration]

Box 6

1. Misc. printed materials, magazines, documents, etc…

Box 7

1. Misc. printed materials, booklets, documents, etc…

***Unnumbered Oversized Boxes*

Memorabilia

- Plaques and framed items

Memorabilia

- Scrapbooks

(9 North, shelf 40): Memorabilia

- Framed items

Memorabilia

- Gavel plaque

- Plaque

- Speech Portfolio

Framed Images

- Honors/positions granted

Framed Images

- Honors/positions granted

Framed Images

- Photographs

- honors/positions granted

Framed Images

- Framed newspaper clipping and note

- Honors/positions granted

“Large Box 1.” 

- Silver Box inscribed “June Taylor 11-5- 63”

- Rusted Metal Pin- Earlington Kentucky Centennial 1870-1970

- Brass Cypher Trivet- Gift from Col. And Mrs. David Roeder

- Wooden horse with red saddle and bridle

- Award from American Airlines Fair Ladies dated May 22, 1967

- Silver award box- Ann Shanks Bourne Award from Democratic Woman’s Club of

Kentucky October 1982

- Appreciation award from Kentucky Army National Guard for valued support

- Silver bowl- 1983 retirement gift from J.D. and Angie Buckman

- Small plaque from Democratic Woman’s Club of Kentucky Convention 1982

- Redwood Taylor Kentucky Department of Education name plaque

- Real estate commissioner badge in leather wallet with photo id

- Small stamp “Miss June Laffoon Madisonville, Ky.”

- Silver clock inscribed on back “To June from Lawrence W. Wetherby Nov. 6, 1951

- Key to Holiday Inn room 436- Honeymoon suite of Redwood and June Taylor March 31, 1961

- Small green Kentucky shaped pin

- Blue and gold Keeneland pin- 1981

- Blue and white ceramic cup “KY. Restaurant Assn. Ho. Edward T. Breathitt”

- Blue and white ceramic cup “KY. Restaurant Assn. June Taylor”

- Kentucky shaped tray painted with a cardinal

- Wooden bowl “Old State House Frankfort Kentucky”

- Oh! Kentucky blue and white ceramic mug “Chief of Staff”

- Oh! Kentucky blue and white ceramic mug “Gov”

- Small cowboy bust- gift from General and Mrs. Dozier- 1981

- Pewter candlestick holder inscribed “Merry Christmas 1980- Phyllis and John Y.”

- Brass business card holder with signature “John Y. Brown Jr. Governor”- contains June

Taylor Chief of Staff business cards

- Brass business card holder with signature “John Y. Brown Jr. Governor”- contains John

Y. Brown, Jr. Governor business cards

- Blue and white ceramic bowl with recipe “Phyllis’ Favorite Chili”

- Blue and white ceramic bowl with recipe “Phyllis’ Favorite Chili”

- Blue and white small ceramic plate

- Blue and white small ceramic plate

- Black box containing pin- Gov. Brown Senator Carter KY 79

“Large box n.2” 

- Large silver Reed and Barton bowl inscribed “June Taylor a Special Thanks Gov. John Y. Brown Jr. 12-9- 88”

- Large marble paperweight with Kentucky state seal and “John Y. Brown Jr. Governor November 6, 1979” “Fresh State Sponsor”

- Large marble paperweight with Kentucky state seal and “John Y. Brown Jr. Governor November 6, 1979” “Fresh Start Sponsor”

- Small marble paperweight with Kentucky state seal and “John Y. Brown Jr. Governor November 6, 1979”

- Small marble paperweight with Kentucky state seal and “John Y. Brown Jr. Governor November 6, 1979”

- Small marble paperweight with red Kentucky Democratic Party top plate for Jefferson-Jackson Day 1982

- Brown box with packaged brass business card holder with signature “John Y. Brown Jr. Governor”

- Kentucky and Co. base with “John Y. Brown, Jr. Governor 1981”

- Green wooden base with red pole with “Thanks for all your hard work. Gov. John Y. and Phyllis George Brown. Derby 1983”

- Small button with “Save the Mansion”

- Medium button with picture of men with a baby

- Large purple and white button with “I’ve never met a millionaire I didn’t like John Y. Brown Jr.”

- Painter trumpeter ornament with “June from JYB and PGB ‘81”

- Silver pen in plastic cover with Kentucky seal and signature “John Y. Brown Jr.

- Bank replica of Ruby Laffoon- gift from A.H. Robertson, Clerk July 8 th , 1974

- Brass Roosevelt bust

- Donkey shaped bottle of wine- never opened Large red Combs for Governor button

“Large box n.3” 

- Small award certifying ownership of one brick in the Kentucky Democratic Headquarters building- February 1974

- White box with two green Kentucky shaped pins

- Large rusted pin- Earlington Kentucky Centennial 1870-1970

- President’s Club plastic badge with blue ribbon- Louisville Kentucky- October 9, 1964

- Large coin- Lyndon Baines Johnson with profile- back has US seal and inauguration date- January 20, 1965

- Kentucky Department of Motor Transportation patch

- Small Kentucky state flag

- Small Kentucky state flag

- Small Kentucky state flag

- Small Kentucky state flag

- Small Kentucky state flag

- Small Kentucky state flag

- Small Kentucky state flag

- Colorful pillow with “Happiness is being Chief-of- Staff”

- “Brown Bag” tote with signatures “John Y. Brown Jr.” and “Phyllis George Brown”

- Navy tie with “John Y. Brown Jr.”

- Democratic Woman’s Club of Kentucky badge with Delegate ribbon

- Blue donkey patch with “John Breckinridge for Congress” sticker

- Brown T-shirt size large with “I survived the Brown Administration so far…”

- Long sleeve brown and tan shirt size large with “Kentucky Democrats proudly presents

Waylon and Jesse in appreciation of Gov. and Mrs. John Y. Brown

- Brown T-shirt size large with “This is a Brown T-shirt”

- White T-shirt size large with “I survived the Brown Administration so far …”

- Blue tie in packaging with donkey heads and “Humphrey Muskie”

- Maroon Rizpah cap with black tassel

- Association of the State Democratic Chairs plaque for 1982 conference in New Orleans LA

- White and blue banner with “Ford Carroll Inauguration day Dec. 7 1971”

- US flag pin on backing with the Pledge of Allegiance and a brief history of the flag

- Delegate ribbon (purple) from 14 th biennial Young Democratic National Convention- Dec. 11-14 1963- with June Taylor name tag and Nevada Centennial coin

- Honorary badge from 1968 Democratic National Convention in plastic packaging

- Honorary badge from 1968 Democratic National Convention in plastic packaging

- Honorary Secretary badge from 1964 Democratic National Convention

- Delegate badge from 1964 Democratic National Convention

- Page badge from 1964 Democratic National Convention

- Miscellaneous gown piece- black, purple, and red

- Navy handkerchief with signature “Phyllis George Brown”

- White handkerchief with State seal and “Kentucky Federation of Business and Professional Women’s Clubs”

- White handkerchief with blue “H’s” made for Hubert H. Humphrey in 1968

- Very small Kentucky state flag and pole with base

Special Collections & University Archives

LaDonna Hamontree's picture
LaDonna Hamontree
Contact:
270-809-6152