Skip to main content
University Libraries
MSU Home | myGate | RacerNet | Canvas
Facebook Twitter Google Plus Youtube Instagram Pinterest

MS92-04 Beale Family Papers: Home

Address Information

Murray State University

200 Pogue Library

Murray, Kentucky 42071

Phone & Fax Numbers

(207)809-6152

(270)809-4295

FAX (270)809-6153

Contact Special Collections via E-mail

Email us at:       msu.specialcollections@murraystate.edu  

Beale Family Papers

Collection Title: Beale Family Papers

 

Series Number: 92-04

 

Processed and Cataloged by: Originally processed in 1992.

 

Date Listed: No exact date listed.

 

Date Span: 1835-1901

 

Size of Collection: 0.5 linear feet. 152 items.

 

Number of Boxes: 1 oversized box; 46x33x9 cm.

 

Type of Material: Correspondence, receipts and ephemera.

 

Condition of Material: Fair with some fading, foxing and minor water damage.

 

Arrangement: Arranged by subject of document.

 

Biographical / Historical Information: The family of Andrew J. Beale (1816- ) arrived from North Carolina and settled in Calloway County, Kentucky in the 1830s. Andrew J. Beale (1842- ) was a tobacco farmer in Calloway County and served briefly as the county corner. Almon B. Beale (1848- ) was a miller and owner of A. B. Beale & Son Hardware in Murray, Kentucky. Frank M. Beale (1849- ) was also a tobacco farmer in the county.

 

Scope and Content: Collection consists of correspondence, receipts, business transactions and legal documents related to the Beale family of Murray, Kentucky from 1835 to 1901. The bulk of the collection are receipts and invoices issued or received by Beale family from the 1850s to the 1880s. Included with the collection are documents associated with the tobacco industry in Calloway County, Kentucky and the purchase and selling of slaves.

 

Subject Headings / Descriptors:

            Murray (Ky.) – History.

            Calloway (Ky.) – History

            Beale, Andrew J., 1816-

            Beale, Andrew J., 1842-

            Beale, Almon B., 1848-

            Beale, Frank M., 1849-

            Slavery – Kentucky – Calloway County.

            Tobacco industry – Kentucky – Calloway County.

 

Additional Sources: See Calloway County, Kentucky federal census indexes for 1830, 1850 and 1880.

Box List

 

Box 1

  1. Beale Papers- Slavery
  2. Beale Papers
  3. Beale Papers
  4. Beale Papers
  5. Beale Papers
  6. Beale Papers
  7. Beale Papers
  8. Beale Papers- Tobacco
  9. Business records and correspondence of A.B. and A.J. Beale of Calloway County, KY, including items relating to slavery and tobacco

Special Collections & University Archives

LaDonna Hamontree's picture
LaDonna Hamontree
Contact:
270-809-6152