Skip to main content
University Libraries
MSU Home | myGate | RacerNet | Canvas
Facebook Twitter Google Plus Youtube Instagram Pinterest

MS92-03 Marvin University School Collection: Home

Address Information

Murray State University

200 Pogue Library

Murray, Kentucky 42071

Phone & Fax Numbers

(207)809-6152

(270)809-4295

FAX (270)809-6153

Contact Special Collections via E-mail

Email us at:       msu.specialcollections@murraystate.edu  

Marvin University School Collection

Collection Title: Marvin University School Collection

 

Series Number: MS92-03

 

Processed and Cataloged by: Originally processed by Keith Heim. Reprocessed by Dieter C. Ullrich

 

Date Listed: Originally listed on July 7, 1992. Relisted on April 7, 2010.

 

Date Span: 1911-1918

 

Size of Collection: 3.0 linear feet.

 

Number of Boxes: 1 oversized box.

 

Type of Material: Photographs, newspaper clippings, ephemera and memorabilia.

 

Condition of Material: Fair with fading and foxing of photographs and documents due to improper storage and aging.

 

Arrangement: Organized alphabetically by type and size of format.

 

Biographical / Historical Information: Marvin College was established in 1885 as a degree granting college at Clinton, Kentucky. The college was transformed into a private college preparatory school in 1908. The school was renamed the Marvin University School and remained in operation until 1922.

 

Scope and Content: Collection consists of photographs of the campus and students of Marvin University School at Clinton, Kentucky from 1911 to 1918. The collection includes ephemera, memorabilia and newspaper clippings on the history of the school from 1885 to 1922.

 

Subject Headings / Descriptors:

Marvin University School (Clinton, Ky.)

Marvin College (Clinton, Ky.)

Clinton (Ky.) – History.

Schools – Kentucky – Clinton.

Colleges – Kentucky – Clinton.

 

Additional Sources: See the college and school catalogs at Microfilm Number 275 (MF275).

Box List

Box 1

  1. Box of photographs within oversized manuscript box
    1.  Ephemera
    2.  Graduation Speech 1916
    3. Murray State University Archives
    4. Marvin College Collection Photograph- Football Team 1912
    5.  Photograph- Football Team 1913
    6.  Photographs- Miscellaneous
    7.  Photographs- Athletic Teams 1913-1914
    8.  Land Deed 1836
    9.  Photographs- Campus Views 1914-1916
  2. School pennant flags (x4)
  3.  Newspaper Clippings
  4.  Class Photograph 1918
  5. Newspaper Clippings

Special Collections & University Archives

LaDonna Hamontree's picture
LaDonna Hamontree
Contact:
270-809-6152