Skip to main content
University Libraries
MSU Home | myGate | RacerNet | Canvas
Facebook Twitter Google Plus Youtube Instagram Pinterest

MS88-05 W. T. Davis Papers: Home

Address Information

Murray State University

200 Pogue Library

Murray, Kentucky 42071

Phone & Fax Numbers

(207)809-6152

(270)809-4295

FAX (270)809-6153

Contact Special Collections via E-mail

Email us at:       msu.specialcollections@murraystate.edu  

W. T. Davis Papers

Collection Title: W. T. Davis Papers

 

Series Number: 88-05

 

Processed and Cataloged by: Originally processed Keith M. Heim

 

Date Listed: November 11, 1988

 

Date Span: 1952-1973

 

Size of Collection: 1.0 linear foot.

 

Number of Boxes: 2 legal size document cases.

 

Type of Material: Correspondence, newspaper clippings, legal documents, maps, photographs and ephemera.

 

Condition of Material: Unknown.

 

Arrangement: Arranged alphabetically by subject title.

 

Biographical / Historical Information: W. T. Davis was the publisher of the Lyon County Herald (Eddyville, Kentucky) from 1953 until it ceased publication in 1966. He and his wife Ella M. Davis waged a battle in the press, and in the courts, to receive fair compensation for property owners in Eddyville and Kuttawa, Kentucky prior to the development of the Land Between the Lakes area by the Tennessee Valley Authority.

 

Scope and Content: Collection consists of correspondence, legal documents, newspaper clippings and other documents related to the relocation of families and homes from Eddyville and Kuttawa, Kentucky by the Tennessee Valley Authority. The collection contains relocation ordinances from both Eddyville and Kuttawa, chronology of events, letters to state and national representatives, maps and drawings related to land development along the Cumberland River and miscellaneous ephemera associated with the creation of Land Between the Lakes.

 

Subject Headings / Descriptors:

            Land Between the Lakes (Ky. and Tenn.) – History.

            Davis, W. T.

            Davis, Ella M.

            Tennessee Valley Authority – History.

            Kentucky Dam (Ky.) – History.

            Lyon County (Ky.) – History.

 

BOX LIST

 

Box 1

  1. Civil War Home-H. Lyon
  2. Davis, W.T.
  3. Eddyville-Kuttawa-Ordinances
  4. Editorials
  5. History
  6. Jones, Lee
  7. Land Acquisition
  8. Legal Papers
  9. Legislation
  10. Maps, plats
  11. National Publicity
  12. Newspapers, Clippings
  13. Photos
  14. Resolutions
  15. Miscellaneous

Box 2

  1. Correspondence-1952, 57
  2. Correspondence-1958
  3. Correspondence, Jan.-Jun. 1959
  4. Correspondence, Jul.-Dec. 1959
  5. Correspondence, 1960
  6. Correspondence, 1961
  7. Correspondence- 1962
  8. Correspondence-1963
  9. Correspondence-1964
  10. Correspondence- 1965
  11. Correspondence, 1967, 73
  12. Correspondence- undated

Special Collections & University Archives

LaDonna Hamontree's picture
LaDonna Hamontree
Contact:
270-809-6152