Skip to main content
University Libraries
MSU Home | myGate | RacerNet | Canvas
Facebook Twitter Google Plus Youtube Instagram Pinterest

MS87-06 Brooks Bus Line Records: Home

Address Information

Murray State University

200 Pogue Library

Murray, Kentucky 42071

Phone & Fax Numbers

(207)809-6152

(270)809-4295

FAX (270)809-6153

Contact Special Collections via E-mail

Email us at:       msu.specialcollections@murraystate.edu  

Brooks Bus Line Records

Collection Title: Brooks Bus Line Records

 

Series Number: MS87-06

 

Processed and Cataloged by: No processing information listed. The collection was reprocessed on June 21, 2010 by Dieter C. Ullrich.

 

Date Listed: June 21, 2010

 

Date Span: 1938-1970

 

Size of Collection: 0.25 linear feet.

 

Number of Boxes: 1 legal half size document case.

 

Type of Material: Legal documents, newspaper clippings and photographs.

 

Condition of Material: Good.

 

Arrangement: Organized alphabetically by subject heading; chronological arrangement.

 

Biographical / Historical Information: The Brooks Bus Line was founded in 1929 by J. Polk Brooks to transport passengers from Paducah, Kentucky to the manufacturing plants at Detroit, Michigan. The company began with as a single automobile taxi service which evolved into a bus line that during its peak in the 1940s and 1950s managed several buses and served over a dozen communities from Paris, Tennessee to Detroit. Declining passengers, mounting operation expenses and rising fuel costs led to the company’s demise in 1980. 

 

Scope and Content: Collection consists of original and photocopied materials related to the business operations of the Brooks Bus Line of Paducah, Kentucky from 1938 to 1970. Contained in the collection are legal documents, such as agreements and contracts, business records associated with interstate regulations, tariffs, rates and charges and bus specifications. Included with the records are a history of the company, business statistics and photographs. 

 

Subject Headings / Descriptors:

Brooks, J. Polk, 1907-1982.

Brooks Bus Line (Paducah, Ky.)

Bus lines – Paducah (Ky.)

Transportation – Middle West.

 

Additional Sources: See Brooks Bus Line: No “common carrier” by Ora Bailey Brooks.

Box List

Box 1

  1. Brooks Bus Lines- History
  2. Brooks Bus Lines- Regulations, Tariffs, Rates, etc.
  3. Brooks Bus Lines- Photos
  4. Brooks Bus Lines- Bus Specifications
  5. Brooks Bus Lines- Legal Documents
  6. Brooks Bus Lines- Statistics

 

Special Collections & University Archives

LaDonna Hamontree's picture
LaDonna Hamontree
Contact:
270-809-6152