Skip to main content
University Libraries
MSU Home | myGate | RacerNet | Canvas
Facebook Twitter Google Plus Youtube Instagram Pinterest

MS87-01 Frank Albert Stubblefield Papers: Home

Hours

Monday - Friday

8:00 a.m. to 4:30 p.m.

Address Information

Murray State University

200 Pogue Library

Murray, Kentucky 42071

Phone & Fax Numbers

(207)809-6152

(270)809-4295

FAX (270)809-6153

Contact Special Collections via E-mail

Email us at:       msu.specialcollections@murraystate.edu  

Frank Albert Stubblefield Papers

Collection Title: Frank Albert Stubblefield Papers
 
Series Number: MS87-01
 
Processed and Cataloged by: Originally processed by Keith M. Heim in April of 1987.  
 
Date Listed: May 21, 2010
 
Date Span: 1958-1974
 
Size of Collection: 115.0 linear feet.
 
Number of Boxes: 224 legal sized document cases and 4 oversized boxes.
 
Type of Material: Correspondence, newspaper clippings, reports, legislation, photographs and memorabilia.
 
Condition of Material: Good.
 
Arrangement: Organized into series: I. Correspondence. II. Committees. III. Departments. IV. Subject files. V. Legislation. VI. Case files. VII. Miscellaneous and oversized; Chronological arrangement.
 
Biographical / Historical Information: Frank Albert Stubblefield was a United States Representative from the State of Kentucky from 1958 to 1974. He was born on April 5, 1907 at Murray, Kentucky. He attended public schools and graduated from Murray High School. He attained a Bachelor of Science in Commerce from the University of Kentucky in 1933. From 1933 to 1958 he was a partner in Dale & Stubblefield, a regional retail drug company. His political career began in 1939 when he was elected to the Murray City Council, a seat he held until to the start of World War II. During the war, he served as a gunnery officer in the United States Navy. In 1951, he successfully ran as a candidate for a seat on the Kentucky State Railroad Commission. Seven years later he was elected to the United States Congress and remained in office until 1974. From 1975 until his death on October 14, 1977, he was a member of the Murray State University Board of Regents.
 
Scope and Content: Collection consists of correspondence, legislation and committee and department reports retained by Frank Albert Stubblefield while he served as a representative in the United States Congress from 1958 to 1974. The collection contains subject files, military and veteran case files and various files related to public works projects. The papers also include newspaper clippings, photographs, artifacts, ephemera and personal memorabilia. 
 
Subject Headings / Descriptors:
Stubblefield, Frank Albert, 1907-1977.
Politicians – United States – Kentucky.
Legislators – United States – Kentucky.
United States – Politics and government – 1958-1974.
Kentucky – Politics and government.
Murray (Ky.)

Special Collections & University Archives

LaDonna Hamontree's picture
LaDonna Hamontree
Contact:
270-809-6152