Skip to main content
University Libraries
MSU Home | myGate | RacerNet | Canvas
Facebook Twitter Google Plus Youtube Instagram Pinterest

MS86-04 Earle Clements Day Photograph Albums: Home

Address Information

Murray State University

200 Pogue Library

Murray, Kentucky 42071

Phone & Fax Numbers

(207)809-6152

(270)809-4295

FAX (270)809-6153

Contact Special Collections via E-mail

Email us at:       msu.specialcollections@murraystate.edu  

Earle Clements Day Photograph Album

Collection Title: Earle Clements Day Photograph Albums

 

Series Number: MS86-04

 

Processed and Cataloged by: Reprocessed by Dieter C. Ullrich on August 17, 2010.

 

Date Listed: August 17, 2010

 

Date Span: 1973-1980

 

Size of Collection: 2.0 linear feet.

 

Number of Boxes: 1 oversized box.

 

Type of Material: Photographs, newspaper clippings, correspondence, audio cassette tapes and ephemera.

 

Condition of Material: Good.

 

Arrangement: Arranged by creator.

 

Biographical / Historical Information: Union County’s Earle C. Clements Day occurred on October 20, 1973 in Morganfield, Kentucky. The event celebrated the political career of former United States Congressman and Governor of Kentucky, Earle Clements.

 

Scope and Content: Collection consists of two photograph albums and two 120 minute audio cassette tapes of Union County’s Earle C. Clements Day held at Morganfield, Kentucky on October 2, 1973. The photo album includes images of Earle Clements being presented with a portrait of himself and his wife Sara Blue Clements along with other local and state dignitaries. Included with photo albums are souvenir issues of local newspapers, correspondence and ephemera related to the event and letters received by James W. Hammack in regards to serving as editor to the public papers of Governor Clements.

 

Subject Headings / Descriptors:

Clements, Earle C., 1896-

Clements, Sara Blue

Hammack, James W.

Union County (Ky.)

Morganfield (Ky.)

Governors – Kentucky.

 

Box List:

1. Newspapers

2. Half-sized document box:

    a. Photo album

    b. Photo album

3.Excess Photographs 1/2 Photographs from the Hammack-Clements Oral History Interview Papers Collection MS 12-02

4. Excess Photographs 2/2 Photographs from the Hammack-Clement Oral History Interview Papers Collection MS 12-02

5. Photo Album Draft Photographs from the Hammack-Clements Oral History Interview Papers Collection MS 12-02

6. James W. Hammack- Correspondence 1977-1980

7. Correspondence 1973

8. Ephemera 1973

9. CD-R (Disc): Earl C. Clements Day Morganfield, Union Co., Ky. October 18-20, 1973, 1 of 4

10. CD-R (Disc): Earl C. Clements Day Morganfield, Union Co., Ky. October 18-20, 1973, 2 of 4

11. CD-R (Disc): Earl C. Clements Day Morganfield, Union Co., Ky. October 18-20, 1973, 3 of 4

12. CD-R (Disc): Earl C. Clements Day Morganfield, Union Co., Ky. October 18-20, 1973, 4 of 4

13. Cassette tape: MS86-04 Earle C. Clements Day October 18-20, 1973

14. Cassette tape: MS86-04 Earle C. Clements Day October 18-20, 1973

15. Cassette tape: MS86-04 Earle C. Clements Day October 18-20, 1973

16. Cassette tape: MS86-04 Earle C. Clements Day October 18-20, 1973

17. Cassette tape: MS86-04 Earle C. Clements Day October 18-20, 1973

18. Cassette tape: MS86-04 Earle C. Clements Day October 18-20, 1973

 

Special Collections & University Archives

LaDonna Hamontree's picture
LaDonna Hamontree
Contact:
270-809-6152