Skip to main content
University Libraries
MSU Home | myGate | RacerNet | Canvas
Facebook Twitter Google Plus Youtube Instagram Pinterest

MS86-03 United Daughters of the Confederacy - Calloway County: Home

Hours

Monday - Friday

8:00 a.m. to 4:30 p.m.

Address Information

Murray State University

200 Pogue Library

Murray, Kentucky 42071

Phone & Fax Numbers

(207)809-6152

(270)809-4295

FAX (270)809-6153

Contact Special Collections via E-mail

Email us at:       msu.specialcollections@murraystate.edu  

United Daughters of the Confederacy - Calloway County Chapter

Collection Title: United Daughters of the Confederacy – Calloway County
 
Series Number: MS86-03
 
Processed and Cataloged by: Processed by Sheree Wise on September 13, 2010.
 
Date Listed: September 20, 2010
 
Date Span: 1863-1987 (Bulk, 1903-1976)
 
Size of Collection: 10.0 linear feet.
 
Number of Boxes: 7 legal size document cases and 6 oversized boxes.
 
Type of Material: Correspondence, financial records, organizational minutes, scrapbooks, photographs, memorabilia and ephemera.
 
Condition of Material: Fair with some tears, foxing and fading due to improper storage.
 
Arrangement: Organized into series by format of material; Chronological arrangement.
 
Biographical / Historical Information: The Calloway County Chapter of the United Daughters of the Confederacy was organized on May 24, 1904 at Murray, Kentucky as the J. N. Williams Chapter. The chapter was chartered by the Kentucky Division of the organization on July 7, 1904. The chapter was responsible for the construction of the Confederate monument on the grounds of the Calloway County Courthouse. The chapter remains active to the present day.  
 
Scope and Content: Collection consists of correspondence, meeting minutes, financial records and reports related to the United Daughters of the Confederacy of Calloway County, Kentucky from 1903 to 1976. The collection contains a record ledger of the Confederate Veterans Association, Camp H. B. Lyon, no. 1259 (1903-1921), membership applications for “Cross of Honor” certificates and various awards received or issued by the organization. Included with the records are scrapbooks, photograph albums, programs, newspaper clippings, memorabilia and ephemera associated with the United Daughters of the Confederacy.   
 
Subject Headings / Descriptors:
United Daughters of the Confederacy. Kentucky Division. Calloway County Chapter.
Kentucky – History – Civil War, 1861-1865.
United States – History – Civil War, 1861-1865.
Calloway County (Ky.) – History.
War memorials – Kentucky – Calloway County.
Veterans – Kentucky – Calloway County.    

Collection Inventory for MS86-03

Inventory of Collection
MS 86-03
United Daughters of the Confederacy
Calloway County Chapter
By Sheree Wise
September 13, 2010
 
Box 1
  1. Bank records, 1935-1964
  2. Certificate of membership, 1974-1984
  3. Children of the Confederacy applications A-G
  4. Children of the Confederacy applications H-P
  5. Children of the Confederacy applications Q-Z
  6. Children of the Confederacy papers
  7. Commission on Benjamin Gillent, 1863
  8. Committee on patriotic activities and civilian defense, 1943
  9. Confederate Currency
  10. Confederate flag information
  11. Confederate pin from A.P. Hill
  12. Confederate Veterans in Calloway County
  13. Confederate Veterans living in home, 1933
  14. Confederate soldier letter, 1864
  15. Court of appeals, Captain W.J.  Stone, 1913
  16. Correspondence before 1941
  17. Correspondence, 1941-1973
  18. Correspondence, 1974- 1985
  19. Correspondence, Not Dated
  20. Cross of Honor Eligibility Certificate, A-I
  21. Cross of Honor Eligibility Certificate, J-S
  22. Cross of Honor Eligibility Certificate, T-Z
  23. Cross of Honor recipient lists
  24. Cross of Honor rules
  25. Crosses of Military Service Information
  26. CSA Roll of Honor Application, 1905
  27. Education Committee, 1934,1973
Box 2
  1. Essays
  2. General F.B. Harris
  3. General Convention
  4. Handbook
  5. Historic 9th Calvary
  6. Historical Department
  7. Historical Evening Program, 1974
  8. Inventory lists, 1985
  9. J. H. Williams Chapter awards, 1973-1974
  10. K.Y. Division Constitution, 1925
  11. Kentucky Division Minutes,1968-1970
  12. Laws
  13. Ledger, 1904-1911
  14. Ledger, 1942
  15. Letter from Confederate soldier
  16. Meeting Minutes, 1948-1950
  17. Members list, 1944-1945
  18. Membership applications, A-F
  19. Membership applications, G-M
  20. Membership applications, N-Z
Box 3
  1. Materials relating to Livesay Presidency
  2. Member Names and Addresses
  3. Memorials; Swann, Greif and Owen
  4. Minutes, 1912-1921
  5. Minutes, 1929-1941
  6. Minutes, 1941-1948
  7. Minutes, 1951
  8. Minutes, 1976-1978
  9. Miscellaneous - Chapter information
  10. Miscellaneous - Genealogical information
  11. Miscellaneous - Papers
  12. Miscellaneous - Soldier information
  13. Monument Information
  14. New Member Blank, 1976-1977
  15. Newspaper Clippings
Box 4
  1. Petitioner and Ancestor list
  2. Photo Album, 1961-1965
  3. Photo Album
  4. Photo album, loose pictures
  5. Photograph
  6. Photos
  7. Postcards
  8. Presidents Report, 1934-1941
  9. Chapter Programs, 1904-1934
  10. Chapter Programs, 1936-1949
Box 5
  1. Programs, 1948-1959
  2. Programs, 1959-1981
  3. Programs, 1982-1987
  4. Record Book, 1903-1921
  5. Registrars Annual Report; List of members, 1926-1953
  6. Registrars Report; Membership application, 1983-1984
  7. Registration instructions, 1931
  8. Report of J. N. Williams Chapter, 1983-1984
  9. Scholarship applications, 1975
  10. Scrapbook, 1864-1979
  11. Scrapbook, 1910-1944
Box 6
  1. Scrapbook and minutes, 1949-1961
  2. Scrapbook, 1961-1965
  3. Scrapbook, 1977-1983
  4. Scrapbook, Jefferson Davis statue data, 1934-1939
  5. Scrapbook, loose papers
Box 7
  1. Secretary Book, 1965-1970
  2. Secretary Book, 1971-1972
  3. Secretary Book, 1972-1974
  4. Secretary Book, 1974-1976
  5. Tax paying members, 1951, 1958
  6. Transfer Forms, 1946-1973
  7. Treasury Reports, 1903-1922
  8. Treasury Reports, 1919-1920
  9. Treasury Reports, 1949-1964
  10. Vice Presidents manual, 1974
  11. Wallet
Box 8
  1. Veterans Home
  2. Confederate Generals
  3. Confederate Generals
  4. Photograph
  5. Daguerreotype
  6. Certificate
  7. Certificate
Box 9
  1. Scrapbook
  2. Scrapbook, 1929-1930
  3. Scrapbook pages, 1923-1971
  4. Scrapbook, 1959-1960
Box 10
  1. Newspaper articles, Various dates through 1972  
Box 11
  1. Photographs 
Box 12
  1.  Framed photos
 
Box 13
  1. Framed photos

Special Collections & University Archives

LaDonna Hamontree's picture
LaDonna Hamontree
Contact:
270-809-6152