Skip to main content
University Libraries
MSU Home | myGate | RacerNet | Canvas
Facebook Twitter Google Plus Youtube Instagram Pinterest

MS86-02 Jerrald Chandler Photograph Collection: Home

Hours

Monday - Friday

8:00 a.m. to 4:30 p.m.

Address Information

Murray State University

200 Pogue Library

Murray, Kentucky 42071

Phone & Fax Numbers

(207)809-6152

(270)809-4295

FAX (270)809-6153

Contact Special Collections via E-mail

Email us at:       msu.specialcollections@murraystate.edu  

Jerrald Chandler Photograph Collection

Collection Title: Jerrald Chandler Photograph Collection

 

Series Number: 86-02

 

Processed and Cataloged by: No information listed.

 

Date Listed: 1982. No exact date listed.

 

Date Span: 1950s-1970s

 

Size of Collection: 0.25 linear feet.

 

Number of Boxes: 1 legal half size document case. 132 items.

 

Type of Material: Photographic prints.

 

Condition of Material: Good.

 

Arrangement: Arranged alphabetically by subject.

 

Biographical / Historical Information: Jerrald Chandler was a freelance photographer for the Hickman County Gazette of Clinton, Kentucky from 1948 until his retirement in 1984. He was also responsible for the development of photographic negatives from the newspaper’s archive.  

 

Scope and Content: Collection consists of photographic prints of national and state politicians, civic organizations, historic buildings and public events. Collection contains images of floods, fires and scenic photographs of Clinton, Kentucky and Hickman County. The collection also includes photographs of John F. Kennedy in 1960 in Paducah and Harry S. Truman in Murray, Kentucky.

 

Subject Headings / Descriptors:

            Chandler, Jerrald, 1927-

            Clinton (Ky.)

            Hickman County (Ky.)

            Politicians – Kentucky.

 

Box List

Box 1

  1. Jerrald Chandler Photograph Collection, 1950s-1970s
  2. Blacks
  3. Gov. Julian Carroll
  4. Clinton Scenes
  5. Columbus Baptist Church
  6. Columbus-Belmont Park
  7. Sen. Wendell Ford
  8. Flood, 1969
  9. Harper’s Home Fire
  10. Hickman County Sesquicentennial
  11. High School
  12. Carroll Hubbard
  13. County Homemakers
  14. Hickman County Fair (1976?)
  15. Hickman County Library Old Library, Clinton, Kentucky
  16. Senator Huddleston
  17. President Kennedy
  18. Memorial Day Parade, 1977
  19. Oakwood Methodist Church
  20. Rotary
  21. Snow- 1978
  22. Harry S. Truman
  23. George A. Wallace
  24. Miscellaneous 

Special Collections & University Archives

LaDonna Hamontree's picture
LaDonna Hamontree
Contact:
270-809-6152