Skip to main content
University Libraries
MSU Home | myGate | RacerNet | Canvas
Facebook Twitter Google Plus Youtube Instagram Pinterest

MS84-09 Kerby and Dorothy Jennings Papers: Home

Address Information

Murray State University

200 Pogue Library

Murray, Kentucky 42071

Phone & Fax Numbers

(207)809-6152

(270)809-4295

FAX (270)809-6153

Contact Special Collections via E-mail

Email us at:       msu.specialcollections@murraystate.edu  

Kircby and Dorthy Jennings Papers

Collection Title: Kerby and Dorothy Jennings Papers
 
Series Number: MS85-09
 
Processed and Cataloged by: Originally processed by Keith Heim and added to by Ernie Bailey. Reprocessed by Dieter C. Ullrich
 
Date Listed: First listed in 1985 and added to in 1997. Relisted on April 5, 2010.
 
Date Span: 1973-1975
 
Size of Collection: 2.0 linear feet.
 
Number of Boxes: 1 legal size document case and 1 oversized box.
 
Type of Material: Manuscript and newspaper clippings.
 
Condition of Material: Fair with some acidification to pasted newspaper clippings and typescripts due to improper storage.
 
Arrangement: Chronological arrangement.
 
Biographical / Historical Information: George Kerby Jennings and Dorothy Hagan Jennings published the Murray Democrat of Murray, Kentucky from 1939 to 1976. They also conspired to write and publish The Story of Calloway County, 1822-1976, a history of Calloway County, Kentucky in 1976. Kerby Jennings father published the Murray Ledger & Times in 1898 and from 1906 to 1928.
 
Scope and Content: Collection consists of a typescript manuscript titled The Story of Calloway County by Kerby and Dorothy Jennings of Murray, Kentucky. Included with the manuscript are a series of newspaper columns from the Murray Democrat titled “Landscape of the Past in Calloway County” which contained articles dating from 1907 to 1909 and republished between 1973 and 1975. The collection also contains a series of articles titled “Report to the People” from December of 1974 to August of 1975 documenting the history of Calloway County, Kentucky. 
 
Subject Headings / Descriptors:
Jennings, George Kerby, 1903-1988
Jennings, Dorothy Hagan, 1913-1995
Murray Democrat (Murray, Ky.)
Calloway County (Ky.) – History.
Murray (Ky.) – History.
Publishers and publishing – Kentucky – Calloway County.
Newspaper publishing – Kentucky – Murray.
 
Additional Sources: See The Story of Calloway County, 1822-1976 by Dorothy and Kerby Jennings.
 
Box List

Box 1

  1.  Early Years, 1822-1900
  2.  Night Riders, 1907-1908
  3.  1909-1913
  4.  World War I 1914-1918
  5.  Between the Wars, 1919-1939
  6.  World War II, 1940-1945
  7.  Post War, 1948-1952
  8.  1953-1959
  9.  1960-1965
  10.  1966-1976
  11.  Book- Miscellaneous
  12.  Obituaries

Box 2

  1. Chapters 1-51 (1908) Reprint January-December 1974
  2. Chapters 1-50 (1907) Reprint January-December 1973 Landscape of the Past
  3. Chapters 1-34 (1909) Reprint January-August 1975 Landscape of the Past
  4. Report to the People December 1974 to August 1975
 

Special Collections & University Archives

LaDonna Hamontree's picture
LaDonna Hamontree
Contact:
270-809-6152