Skip to main content
University Libraries
MSU Home | myGate | RacerNet | Canvas
Facebook Twitter Google Plus Youtube Instagram Pinterest

MS84-03 Murray-Calloway County Chamber of Commerce Records: Home

Address Information

Murray State University

200 Pogue Library

Murray, Kentucky 42071

Phone & Fax Numbers

(207)809-6152

(270)809-4295

FAX (270)809-6153

Contact Special Collections via E-mail

Email us at:       msu.specialcollections@murraystate.edu  

Murray-Calloway County Chamber of Commerce Records

Collection Title: Murray-Calloway County Chamber of Commerce Records

 

Series Number: MS84-03

 

Processed and Cataloged by: No processing information listed.

 

Date Listed: Originally listed in March of 1984. Relisted on April 13, 2010.

 

Date Span: 1934-1979

 

Size of Collection: 15 linear feet.

 

Number of Boxes: 25 legal size document cases and 2 oversized boxes.

 

Type of Material: Correspondence, meeting minutes, financial statements, newsletters and scrapbooks.

 

Condition of Material: Fair with some foxing and fading to older documents due to improper storage.

 

Arrangement: Organized alphabetically by subject title. Chronological arrangement.

 

Biographical / Historical Information: The Chamber of Commerce at Murray, Kentucky was incorporated on October 29, 1926. The purpose of the corporation was “to collect and circulate valuable and useful information relating to the manufacturing, industrial and mercantile interests of the City of Murray” and “to promote and maintain the general welfare” of the city and its businesses. The Chamber presently operates as a corporate entity to advance the economic prosperity of the city and county.   

 

Scope and Content: Collection consists of correspondence, meeting minutes, financial records and subject files produced or received by the Murray-Calloway County Chamber of Commerce from 1934 to 1979. The subject files contain information on the Calloway County Development Council, Calloway County Fair Board, Murray-Calloway County Industrial Foundation, Kentucky Lake Association, Tennessee Valley Authority, North-South Cage Commission and various files related to community development and tourism in the region. Included with the records are newspaper clippings, photographs and scrapbooks documenting activities and events sponsored by the Murray-Calloway County Chamber of Commerce.

 

Subject Headings / Descriptors:

Murray-Calloway County Chamber of Commerce.

Murray (Ky.) – History.

Calloway County (Ky.) – History.

Civic improvement – Kentucky – Murray.

Civic improvement – Kentucky – Calloway County.

Rural development – Kentucky – Calloway County.

Box List

Box 1

  1. Financial Statement 1934-37
  2. Financial Statements 1967-1979
  3. Board of Trustees Minutes: 1934-39
  4. Board of Trustees Minutes: 1950-63

Box 2

  1. Board of Trustees Minutes: 1963-68
  2. Board of Trustees Minutes: 1968-76

Box 3

  1. Agriculture Council
  2. Airport
  3. All-American City Award
  4. Ampitheatre Fund
  5. Articles of Incorporation (C of C)
  6. Atomic Energy Commission
  7. Atomic Energy Commission--Clippings
  8. "Auction Dollar Days"

Box 4

  1. Banquet 1957-61
  2. Banquet 1964-65
  3. Banquet 1970-77
  4. Banquet Programs
  5. Barkley Project
  6. Building Fund Account

Box 5

  1. "Calloway County Day"
  2. "Calloway County Day" Clippings
  3. Calloway County Fair Board
  4. Calloway Co-Soil Conservation Dist.
  5. Chamber of Commerce of the U.S.
  6. Calloway County Development Council
  7. Christmas Decorations
  8. "Citizen of the Year"
  9. City Directory

Box 6

  1. Clarks River Project
  2. Clean-Up, Paint-Up, Fix-Up Week
  3. Community Inventory Checklist
  4. Credit Cards
  5. Cumberland Valley TVA
  6. East Fork Watershed

Box 7

  1. FFA/4H Livestock Shows
  2. Fire Inspection
  3. "Forestry Progress"
  4. General Obligation Bonds
  5. Ground Observor Corps
  6. Hospitals
  7. Hotels
  8. Kentucky Business Council
  9. Kentucky Chain Store Council
  10. Kentucky Chamber of Commerce
  11. Kentucky Department of Commerce
  12. Kentucky Department of Highways (see also Transportation file)

Box 8

  1. Kentucky Industrial Development Committee
  2. Kentucky Lake Association
  3. Kentucky Lake Association
  4. Kentucky Lake State Park

Box 9

  1. Kentucky Retail Federation
  2. Kentucky Rural Road Program
  3. Kentucky Sunday Sales Limitation
  4. Kentucky Travel Council
  5. Labor-Union Activities (see also Tappan file)
  6. Membership Information
  7. Murray (city)
  8. Murray Broadcasting
  9. Murray-Calloway Co. Industrial Foundation
  10. Murray City Schools: Economic Opportunity Act
  11. Murray Country Club
  12. Murray Electric
  13. Murray Jaycees

Box 10

  1. Murray State Univ: Founders Memorial Fund
  2. Murray State Univ.: General
  3. Murray State Univ.: Student Party
  4. Murray State Univ.: Student Party-Clippings
  5. Murray Zoning Ordinance
  6. Nashville, Chatt, and St. Louis Railroad
  7. National Better Business Bureau

Box 11

  1. Newsletter
  2. Operation Townlift
  3. Phi Mu Alpha
  4. Photos
  5. Publicity

Box 12

  1. Retail Closing Dates
  2. "Salute to Murray, Kentucky"
  3. Scrapbook
  4. Shopping Centers
  5. Sidewalk Sale
  6. Solicitors
  7. "Stars in My Crown" Production
  8. Statistics
  9. Surveys or Reports (Calloway co.)

Box 13

  1. Telephone Service (Murray)
  2. Tennessee Valley Authority
  3. Tennessee Valley Authority
  4. TVA- Land Between the Lakes
  5. TVA- Land Between the Lakes

Box 14

  1. Transportation and Highways
  2. United Fund
  3. U.S. Highway 641 Association (see also transportation file)
  4. U.S. Department of Commerce
  5. Wage Rates
  6. Water and Sewage

Box 15

  1. Correspondence: American Legion
  2. Correspondence: General
  3. Correspondence: Individuals
  4. Correspondence: Individuals
  5. Correspondence: Individuals
  6. Correspondence: Legislators

Box 16

  1. Correspondence: Membership Commit.
  2. Correspondence: Other Chambers
  3. Correspondence: Other Chambers
  4. Correspondence: Tourist Inquiries

Box 17

  1. American Paper and Twine
  2. Art-Lloyd Metal Products
  3. Austin Company
  4. B&W Supply
  5. Beauty Craft Funiture
  6. Borg-Warner
  7. Calloway County Manufacturing Company
  8. Carrier Corp.
  9. Century Electric
  10. Corning Glassworks
  11. Cowden Manufacturing
  12. Eli Lilly
  13. Foster Boat Company
  14. Gehrig Rubber and Manufacturing
  15. General Carbon
  16. General Silica
  17. Hartzell Manufactures
  18. Hyster Company
  19. Imperial Reading

Box 18

  1. J-G Chemists
  2. L&N Railroad
  3. Mayfield Tobacco Warehouse
  4. Murray Hatchery
  5. Murray Hosiery Mills
  6. Murray Manufacturing Company
  7. Packageing Corporation of America
  8. Portland Wire and K Iron
  9. Regal Products
  10. Ryan Milk Co.
  11. Stephens Business Forms
  12. Tappan
  13. Texas Gas

Box 19

  1. Union Brass and Metal
  2. Union Underwear
  3. United Marine Products
  4. Valley Steel Products
  5. Waterbury Garment Corp.
  6. Western Materials Corporation
  7. Winslow Engineering Corps.
  8. Wolverine Cap Manufacturing

Box 20

  1. Misc. Business Inquires: 1940's
  2. Misc. Business Inquiries: 1948-50
  3. Misc. Business Inquiries: 1958-59
  4. Misc. Business Inquiries: 1960's

Box 21

  1. Misc. Business Inquiries: 1960-61
  2. Misc. Business Inquiries: 1960-61
  3. Misc. Business Inquiries: 1964-72
  4. Locked Box Requests

Box 22

  1. North- South Cage Commission: 1949
  2. North- South Cage Commission: 1950
  3. North- South Cage Commission: 1951
  4. North- South Cage Commission: 1952

Box 23

  1. North-South Cage Commission: 1953
  2. North-South Cage Commission: 1954

Box 24

  1. North-South Cage Commission: 1955
  2. North-South Cage Commission: 1956
  3. North-South Cage Commission: 1957

Box 25

  1. Audio-Visual productions; Guest register: 1950-59; Misc. newspapers
  2. Audio-Visual productions; Guest register: 1950-59; Misc. newspapers

Oversized Boxes*

scrapbook

 scrapbooks

  • Framed photo
  • Scrapbook

Special Collections & University Archives

LaDonna Hamontree's picture
LaDonna Hamontree
Contact:
270-809-6152