Skip to main content
University Libraries
MSU Home | myGate | RacerNet | Canvas
Facebook Twitter Google Plus Youtube Instagram Pinterest

MS79-06 Alben W. Barkley Sound Recordings: Home

Address Information

Murray State University

200 Pogue Library

Murray, Kentucky 42071

Phone & Fax Numbers

(207)809-6152

(270)809-4295

FAX (270)809-6153

Contact Special Collections via E-mail

Email us at:       msu.specialcollections@murraystate.edu  

Alben W. Barkley Sound Recordings

Collection Title: Alben W. Barkley Sound Recordings
 
Series Number: MS79-06
 
Processed and Cataloged by: Processed by Dieter C. Ullrich on May 19, 2010.
 
Date Listed: May 19, 2010
 
Date Span: 1956
 
Size of Collection: 0.10 linear feet.
 
Number of Boxes: 1 legal sized file folder; 2 items.
 
Type of Material: Sound disc : 45 rpm. : 6 in.
 
Condition of Material: Good.
 
Arrangement: Chronological arrangement.
 
Biographical / Historical Information: Alben William Barkley was a United States Representative, Senator and Vice President of the United States. He was born near Lowes, Graves County, Kentucky on November 24, 1877. He attended public schools and graduated from Marvin College in Clinton, Kentucky. He later attended Emory College and the University of Virginia where he received a degree in law. He began the practice of law in Paducah in 1901. He was elected county prosecutor for McCracken County in 1905 and judge of the county court in 1909. In 1913, He ran for a seat in the United States House of Representatives and won. He was reelected six successive times to the office. Barkley was elected United States Senator in 1926 and remained until he was elected Vice President under Harry S. Truman in 1948. After a single term as Vice President he returned to the Senate where he served until his death on April 30, 1956.  
 
Scope and Content: Collection consists of four 45 rpm records related to United States Vice President and Senator from Kentucky Alben W. Barkley. They include a live recording of a speech made by Senator Earle C. Clements during Barkley’s memorial services and a studio recording titled “Ballad of Alben Barkley” by Arthur Lee Simpkins. Added to the collection is a 33 1/3 record of Barkley’s last speech at Washington & Lee University in Lexington, Kentucky on April 30, 1956.
 
Subject Headings / Descriptors:
Barkley, Alben William, 1877-1956.
Clements, Earle C., 1896-1985.
Lee Simpkins, Arthur
Politicians – Kentucky.
Vice-Presidents – United States.
 
Additional Sources: See Dear Alben: Mr. Barkley of Kentucky by James K. Libby and Alben W. Barkley, Senate Majority Leader and Vice President by Polly Ann Davis.

Special Collections & University Archives

LaDonna Hamontree's picture
LaDonna Hamontree
Contact:
270-809-6152