Skip to main content
University Libraries
MSU Home | myGate | RacerNet | Canvas
Facebook Twitter Google Plus Youtube Instagram Pinterest

MS79-02 New Providence Methodist Church Records: Home

Address Information

Murray State University

200 Pogue Library

Murray, Kentucky 42071

Phone & Fax Numbers

(207)809-6152

(270)809-4295

FAX (270)809-6153

Contact Special Collections via E-mail

Email us at:       msu.specialcollections@murraystate.edu  

New Providence Methodist Church Registry

Collection Title: New Providence Methodist Church Records

 

Series Number: MS79-02

 

Processed and Cataloged by: Processed by Dieter C. Ullrich on May 17, 2010.

 

Date Listed: May 17, 2010.

 

Date Span: 1899-1939

 

Size of Collection: 0.10 linear feet.

 

Number of Boxes: 1 legal sized file folder; 1 item.

 

Type of Material: Records.

 

Condition of Material: Fair with the binding of the ledger broke and torn and pages faded due to aging and improper storage. 

 

Arrangement: Organized by creator; Chronological arrangement.

 

Biographical / Historical Information: The New Providence Methodist Church was believed to have been established in the late 1880s in New Providence, Kentucky. The original church building burned down sometime shortly before 1899. No records exist of the church after 1939. The New Providence Baptist Church is presently located where the Methodist Church once resided.

 

Scope and Content: Collection consists of a two bound ledgers created by the New Providence Methodist Church (New Providence, Kentucky) from 1889 to 1939. One ledger contains membership lists, lists of church officers and dates of baptism, certification and withdrawal from 1899 to 1939. The other ledger contains meeting minutes of the New Providence, Paris District, Memphis Conference from March 17, 1889 to January 18, 1908.   

 

Subject Headings / Descriptors:

New Providence Methodist Church (New Providence, Ky.)

New Providence (Ky.)

Calloway County (Ky.)

Methodists – Kentucky – Calloway County.

Church records and registers – Kentucky – New Providence.

 

Special Collections & University Archives

LaDonna Hamontree's picture
LaDonna Hamontree
Contact:
270-809-6152