Skip to main content
University Libraries
MSU Home | myGate | RacerNet | Canvas
Facebook Twitter Google Plus Youtube Instagram Pinterest

MS78-02 Aden Family Papers: Home

Address Information

Murray State University

200 Pogue Library

Murray, Kentucky 42071

Phone & Fax Numbers

(207)809-6152

(270)809-4295

FAX (270)809-6153

Contact Special Collections via E-mail

Email us at:       msu.specialcollections@murraystate.edu  

Aden Family Papers

Collection Title: Aden Family Papers

 

Series Number: 78-02

 

Processed and Cataloged by: Originally processed on January 20, 1978.

 

Date Listed: February 18, 2010

 

Date Span: 1846-1926

 

Size of Collection: 0.5 linear feet.

 

Number of Boxes: 1 legal size document case.

 

Type of Material: Correspondence, newspaper clippings, legal and financial documents.

 

Condition of Material: Unknown.

 

Arrangement: Arranged alphabetically by surname.

 

Biographical / Historical Information: Sidney B. Aden and his wife Delilah arrived in Henry County, Tennessee from South Carolina in the late 1830s. The Aden family settled and farmed in Henry, Tennessee. Their son, James S. Aden, was a Confederate war veteran and later served as a county judge for Henry County during the late 19th and early 20th Century.  

 

Scope and Content: Collection consists of correspondence, newspaper clippings and legal and financial documents relating to the Aden family of Henry County, Tennessee. The bulk of the collection contains legal documents acquired by James S. Aden while serving as county judge to Henry County during the late 19th and early 20th Century. Included in the collection are records from the Odd Fellows College (1859), Ladies Aid Society (1911-1915) and letters from the Rogers family (1853-1904) of Paris, Tennessee.  

 

Subject Headings / Descriptors:

            Aden family

            Rogers family

            Henry County (Tenn.)

            Paris (Tenn.)

            Henry (Tenn.)

            Ladies Aid Society (Paris, Tenn.)

            Odd Fellows College (Paris, Tenn.)

 

Box List:

 

1. Aden

2. Letters

3. Clover, Rush W.- Estate

4. Earnest Estate

5. Harmon vs. Carter

6. Mitchell, J.W.

7. Lucky, Samuel R.

8. Holcomb, S.C.

9. Potter Family

10. Rogers Family

11. Ladies Aid Society, First Baptist Church, Paris, Tenn.

12. Odd Fellows College, Paris, Tenn.

13. The Echo- Paris, Tennessee Weekly

14. Advertisements

15. Miscellaneous

 

Special Collections & University Archives

LaDonna Hamontree's picture
LaDonna Hamontree
Contact:
270-809-6152