Skip to main content
University Libraries
MSU Home | myGate | RacerNet | Canvas
Facebook Twitter Google Plus Youtube Instagram Pinterest

MS78-01 George S. Hart Papers: Home

Address Information

Murray State University

200 Pogue Library

Murray, Kentucky 42071

Phone & Fax Numbers

(207)809-6152

(270)809-4295

FAX (270)809-6153

Contact Special Collections via E-mail

Email us at:       msu.specialcollections@murraystate.edu  

George S. Hart Papers

Collection Title: George S. Hart Papers
 
Series Number: 78-01
 
Processed and Cataloged by: Originally processed by Keith M. Heim
 
Date Listed: January 18, 1978
 
Date Span: 1917-1972
 
Size of Collection: 0.5 linear feet.
 
Number of Boxes: 1 legal size document case.
 
Type of Material: Newspaper clippings, photographs and memorabilia.
 
Condition of Material: Fair with some fading and aging due to improper storage.
 
Arrangement: Arranged by type of format.
 
Biographical / Historical Information: George S. Hart was born on March 1, 1893 in Calloway County, Kentucky. He attended local schools and graduated from Bowling Green Normal School. He began teaching at the Locust Grove School near Murray, Kentucky in 1914. He also taught at the Kelly, Paschall and Flint schools before entering the United States Army during the First World War. After his return from the war, Hart taught at the White Oaks and Grindstone schools in Calloway County. In 1922, he was elected Circuit Clerk for the county and in 1937 was elected mayor of Murray. He remained mayor of the city for over twenty years. Hart also served as the executive manager of the Bank of Murray, the president of the Kentucky Bankers Association, board member of the State Board of Education and regent of Murray State University. He died on August 11, 1967.
 
Scope and Content: Collection consists of newspaper clippings, photographs, campaign materials and memorabilia associated with Murray, Kentucky mayor George S. Hart from 1917 to 1972. The bulk of the collection is newspaper clippings from the 1950s and 1960s on the community activities of Mayor Hart in the Murray and surrounding region. The papers include biographical information, information related to the death of President Franklin D. Roosevelt and certificates and awards he received during his lifetime.
 
Subject Headings / Descriptors:
Hart, George S., 1893-1967
Murray (Ky.) – History.
Teachers – Kentucky – Calloway County.
Politicians – United States – Kentucky.
Mayors – Kentucky – Murray.
Kentucky – Politics and government.
 
Box List:

1. Biographical Material

2. Newspaper Clippings- Business and Political

3. Murray State University

4. “This is Your Life”

5. Franklin D. Roosevelt

6. Mementos- Personal

7. Photos- Business and Political

8. Mementos- Business and Political

9. Photos- Personal

10. Memorial Book

11. Governor’s Award of Merit- George S. Hart

Special Collections & University Archives

LaDonna Hamontree's picture
LaDonna Hamontree
Contact:
270-809-6152