Skip to main content
University Libraries
MSU Home | myGate | RacerNet | Canvas
Facebook Twitter Google Plus Youtube Instagram Pinterest

MS76-07 William V. Gregory Papers: Home

Address Information

Murray State University

200 Pogue Library

Murray, Kentucky 42071

Phone & Fax Numbers

(207)809-6152

(270)809-4295

FAX (270)809-6153

Contact Special Collections via E-mail

Email us at:       msu.specialcollections@murraystate.edu  

William V. Gregory Papers

Collection Title: William V. Gregory Papers

 

Series Number: 76-07

 

Processed and Cataloged by: Originally by Keith M. Heim.

 

Date Listed: July of 1976

 

Date Span: 1927-1936

 

Size of Collection: 0.5 linear feet.

 

Number of Boxes: 1 legal size document case.

 

Type of Material: Correspondence, speeches, newspaper clippings and photographs.

 

Condition of Material: Good.

 

Arrangement: Arranged by type of format.

 

Biographical / Historical Information: William Voris Gregory was born in Graves County, Kentucky on October 21, 1877. He attended local public schools and graduated from Western Kentucky College in 1896. He taught at public schools in Graves County and later became superintendent of schools in Mayfield. He attended law school at Cumberland University and in 1902 was admitted to the Kentucky State Bar Association. He began practicing in Mayfield later the same year. From 1913 to 1919, he served as county judge for Graves County and in 1919 was appointed United States Attorney for the Western District of Kentucky by President Woodrow Wilson. When Alben Barkley won a seat in the United States Senate in 1926, Gregory ran and was elected representative for Kentucky’s First Congressional District. He held that position until his death on October 10, 1936.

 

Scope and Content: Collection consists of correspondence, speeches, newspaper clippings and photographs of Congressman William V. Gregory from 1927 to 1936. The collection contains official and personal correspondence, employment cases and letters related to the Bonus Bill of 1935. Included with the papers are campaign materials and documents on his death and estate.  

 

Subject Headings / Descriptors:

Gregory, William Voris, 1877-1936

Politicians – United States – Kentucky.

Legislators – United States – Kentucky.

United States – Politics and government – 1936-1958

Kentucky – Politics and government.

Military pensions.

 

Additional Sources: See Memorial services held in the House of Representatives of the United States, together with remarks presented in eulogy of William Voris Gregory, late a representative from Kentucky.

 

 

Box List:

Box 1

  1. Rep. W. V. Gregory Correspondence, 1927
  2. Correspondence, Official 1933-1936
  3. Job Cases, 1934-1936
  4. Bonus Bill, March 1935
  5. Old Letters from McCloys
  6. Speeches
  7. Political Campaigns
  8. Newspaper Clippings
  9. Gregory’s Death Miscellaneous
  10. William Voris Gregory Estate 

 

Special Collections & University Archives

LaDonna Hamontree's picture
LaDonna Hamontree
Contact:
270-809-6152